Newspapers and Current Events

The ShunBao (Shen Bao)database is composed of the digitized issues of the Shanghai, China newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. Considered by many to be the longest lasting and most influential newspaper in modern China, the publication covered the major political and social developments for over half a century. The full name of the newspaper was Shenjiang Xinbao (translated as Shenjiang New Post, also known in English as the Shanghai News). Content has not been translated or transliterated from the Chinese script.
[Coverage: 1872-1949]

UDNDATA is a newspaper database of the United Daily News Group, the largest news group in Taiwan. UDNDATA covers seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan, Europe and North America: Lian He Bao 聯合報, Jing Ji Ri Bao 經濟日報, Min Sheng Bao 民生報, Lian He Wan Bao 聯合晚報, Xing Bao 星報 in Taiwan, Ouzhou Ri Bao 歐洲日報 in Europe and Meizhou Shi Jie Ri bao 美洲世界日報 in North America. The online database provides current and searchable full-text articles, as well as searchable images, published on the above seven newspapers. It is not only a major information source in Taiwan, but also an important information sources on overseas Chinese in Europe and North America.

NICNP is provided by Shanghai Wenda Information Co., Ltd., based in Shanghai, China. The database provides internet access to titles, authors, and abstracts of newspaper/journal articles published between 1833 to 1979 in China. NICNP covers various subject areas in social sciences and humanities, such as religion, literature, culture, art, politics, economics, and history.
[Coverage: 1833-1992]

The "People's Daily" is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. This database provides complete official records of the Chinese government from 1946-2005.
[Coverage: 1946-2005]

Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram (الأهرام‎, “The Pyramids”) is one of the most prominent Arabic newspapers in the Middle East, including its legacy as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential national daily, with a circulation of over 1 million. The newspaper established itself as a high-quality journalistic venture during the mid-20th century.
[1876-2019, with annual updates]

"Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991, when Boris Yeltsin signed a decree closing Pravda down. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers' newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. After the collapse of the USSR, nationalist and communist journalists intermittently published a print newspaper and an online newspaper under the name Pravda. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation."
[Coverage: 1912-2009]

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.
[Coverage: 1960-present]