This guide lists resources in neurobiology and physiology which are useful for locating literature across a range of topics including cardiovascular physiology; cognitive neuroscience; endocrinology; exercise physiology; gastrointestinal physiology; motor systems; muscular and connective tissue physiology; neural homeostasis; neurodevelopment; neuronal and glial cell biology; neuronal signaling; physiognomies; renal physiology; reproductive physiology; respiratory physiology; sensory systems; and theoretical and computational neuroscience.
Related Subject Guides
Below are recommended subject guides from related areas that provide highly specialized information for additional exploration.
Key Resources for Neurobiology & Physiology
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed for UC Davis offers users vastly more full-text articles than does the public version of Pubmed.gov. Search results in the UCD version display "Get it at UC" buttons providing (with on-campus or VPN connection) access to articles in journals licensed by UC Davis or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online. PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
[Coverage: 1902-present] - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed.
[Coverage: 1840-present] - SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus is the world's leading database in sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. SportDiscus has over 1.7 million qualified references from thousands of international periodicals, books, e-journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and websites that focus on different areas involving sport, including: sport sciences, engineering, psychology, administration, sociology, history, coaching, training, physical education, physical fitness, health and recreation.
[Coverage: 1800-present] - Visible Body Suite (Formerly Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive 3D visual images atlas of the human body. Structures from nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive systems. Microanatomy of tissue and special organs, including the eye, ear, and tongue. Muscle movements demonstrated in rotatable moving 3D models. Compare models side-by-side with cadaver images and diagnostic images. Includes detailed medical definitions, descriptions of injuries, diseases, and pathologies, and a question test bank for quizzing and improving anatomy mastery.
To access this electronic resource, please sign up for an account with your ucdavis email and then sign in from an authorized UCD IP address.
View the Visible Body Privacy Policy.
Overview and Help Using Visible Body Suite
