Open Access/Preprint Collections
Only selected highly relevant and comprehensive Open Access/Preprint Collections are listed
- bioRxiv This link opens in a new windowbioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals. bioRxiv accepts preprints of articles covering all aspects of research in the life sciences. When posting an article, the author assigns it to one of the following categories: bioRxiv accepts preprints of articles covering all aspects of research in the life sciences. When posting an article, the author assigns it to one of the following categories: Animal Behavior and Cognition, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, Genetics, Genomics, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Paleontology, Pathology, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physiology, Plant Biology, Scientific Communication and Education, Synthetic Biology, Systems Biology, Zoology.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowThe DOAJ covers nearly 5500 open access scholarly journals that range in subject coverage spanning the sciences, humanities and social sciences; half of these periodicals are searchable at the article level. All journals are peer-reviewed or have high editorial quality. Content includes scientific and scholarly periodicals that publish research or review papers in full text. Publications may emanate from international academic, government, commercial, non-profit private sources. To be included in the DOAJ, an open access journal must use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access and allow researchers to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles.
[Coverage: Varies by journal title]
- OpenDOARDirectory of academic open access repositories. Search for the full-text of material held in open access repositories listed in the Directory using 'Search Repository Contents.'
- MedRxiv“medRxiv (pronounced "med-archive") is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information. medRxiv is for the distribution of preprints - complete but unpublished manuscripts - that describe human health research conducted, analyzed, and interpreted according to scientific principles. Research articles, systematic reviews and meta-analyses, clinical research design protocols and data articles may be posted.“
- PubMed Central“PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). … Available to the public online since 2000, PMC was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at NLM. … Since its inception in 2000, PMC has grown … to [be] an archive of articles from thousands of journals. … PMC contains more than 7.6 million full-text records, spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present).”