Research Guides: Evolutionary Biology: Getting Started

Key Resources for Evolutionary Biology

This guide lists resources related to evolutionary biology which are useful for locating literature across a range of topics including: evolution of behavior; evolutionary and population genetics; genomes and the evolution of development; history of evolutionary thought; human and primate evolution; phylogenetics and the history of life; selection and adaptation; and speciation and macroevolution.

Below are key resources to get you started in locating evolutionary biology literature.

Please note:

Comprehensive literature searching in Evolutionary Biology requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since evolutionary biology is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present]
BIOSIS Previews Help: Basic Search
BIOSIS Previews Help

Evolutionary Biology [via Oxford Bibliographies]
An “extensive, annotated bibliography of the most important concepts and ideas in the discipline” of evolutionary biology. Articles range from adaptation to tetrapod evolution including “genome sequencing and evolutionary developmental biology”. As the Editor in Chief notes, this field is changing rapidly being at the “nexus of two developments, which jointly allow an understanding of evolutionary processes never before possible. First is the ability to sequence entire genomes, and second is the means to study natural populations over long periods of time.” The Evolutionary Biology Bibliography is kept current as follows: each article receives an annual formal review; and about 50-75 new articles are added each year.

See the list of Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UC Davis subscribes at https://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/

Evolutionary Biology

Key Resources for Evolutionary Biology

Please note:

Research Support

Undergraduates and their instructors should contact:

Grad students, post-docs, faculty and researchers should contact: