Microbiology

2019 (4th ed.) Thomas M. Schmidt, ed. This 5-volume set “gathers both basic and applied dimensions in this dynamic field that includes virtually all environments on Earth. … New focus areas include `Animal and Plant Microbiomes’ and ‘Global Impact of Microbes`.” Thematic sections include: historical; microbial diversity; physiology and genomics; ecology and evolution; pathogenesis and immunology; and technological advances and applied microbiology.”

2021 (4th ed.) Dennis Bamford, ed. “In five volumes, the work provides comprehensive coverage of the whole virosphere, making this a unique resource. Content explores viruses present in the environment and the pathogenic viruses of humans, animals, plants and microorganisms. Key areas and concepts concerning virus classification, structure, epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, treatment and prevention are discussed, guiding the reader through chapters that are presented at an accessible level, and include further readings for those needing more specific information. More than ever now, with the Covid19 pandemic, we are seeing the huge impact viruses have on our life and society.”

2015, continuously updated. William Barnaby Whitman, editor. “Bergey’s Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria (BMSAB) … is the most complete and authoritative description of bacterial and archaeal diversity and includes over 1,750 articles – equivalent to over 8 volumes in print. About a hundred new genera and 600+ new species have been described per year for each of the last 5 years. To remain abreast of this explosion in knowledge of the microbial world, an electronic manual with frequent updates is necessary. The BMSAB is an essential tool for anyone at the forefront of research in microbiology.”

2013 (4th ed.) continuously updated. Eugene Rosenberg, et al, eds. “This fourth edition of The Prokaryotes is organized to cover all taxonomic diversity, using the family level to delineate chapters. … includes not only taxonomy, but also prokaryotic biology and technology of taxa in a broad context. Technological aspects highlight the usefulness of prokaryotes in processes and products, including biocontrol agents and as genetics tools.

The content of the expanded fourth edition is divided into two parts: Part 1 contains review chapters dealing with the most important general concepts in molecular, applied and general prokaryote biology; Part 2 describes the known properties of specific taxonomic groups. Two completely new sections have been added to Part 1: bacterial communities and human bacteriology. … The 4th edition of The Prokaryotes is the most complete resource on the biology of prokaryotes. The following volumes are published consecutively within the 4th Edition:

* Prokaryotic Biology and Symbiotic Associations
* Prokaryotic Communities and Ecophysiology
* Prokaryotic Physiology and Biochemistry
* Applied Bacteriology and Biotechnology
* Human Microbiology
* Actinobacteria
* Firmicutes
* Alphaproteobacteria and Betaproteobacteria
* Gammaproteobacteria
* Deltaproteobacteria and Epsilonproteobacteria
* Other Major Lineages of Bacteria and the Archaea”

2020, continuously updated. John M. Archibald, et al, eds. “ Published in a modern, user-friendly format this fully revised and updated edition of The Handbook of Protoctista (1990) is the resource for those interested in the biology, diversity and evolution of eukaryotic microorganisms and their descendants, exclusive of animals, plants and fungi. With chapters written by leading researchers in the field, the content reflects the present state of knowledge of the cell and genome biology, evolutionary relationships and ecological/medical/economic importance each major group of protists, organized according to current protist systematics as informed by molecular phylogenetics and genomics.”

2022. Manzoor Ahmed Mir. This work provides “a brief but thorough and recent knowledge of various human pathogenic microbes, their associated drug resistance mechanisms, and different diseases caused by them; describes the different aspects of fungal, bacterial and antimicrobial resistance; [and] addresses novel antimicrobial agents and approaches.”

2016. Amy L. Leber, ed. “… provides step-by-step protocols and descriptions that allow clinical microbiologists and laboratory staff personnel to confidently and accurately perform all analyses, including appropriate quality control recommendations, from the receipt of the specimen through processing, testing, interpretation, presentation of the final report, and subsequent consultation.”

2014. Ronald M. Atlas. “Almost 1,800 media are described … including newly described media for the cultivation of emerging pathogens. …Many … media included … permit the cultivation of bacteria, fungi, and viruses that are currently causing major medical problems around the world [and] … are very important for the rapid detection of pathogenic microorganisms and the diagnosis of individuals with specific infectious diseases and for preventing the spread of pathogens via food, water, and environmental sources. Several …media … include chromogenic or fluorogenic substrates that permit the rapid detection of specific pathogens. [This handbook provides] … descriptions of the media that are used to cultivate and identify microorganisms from clinical specimens and those of public health significance. The Handbook provides a compilation of the formulations, methods of preparation, and applications for media used in clinical and public health microbiology laboratories.”

2021. Cangliang Shen et al. This work “covers topics on isolation, identification, numeration and observation of microorganisms, biochemistry tests, case studies, clinical lab tasks, and basic applied microbiology. The book is written technically with figures and photos showing details of every lab procedure. This is a resource that is skills-based focusing on lab technique training. It is introductory in nature, but encourages critical thinking based on real case studies of what happens in labs every day and includes self-evaluation learning questions after each lab section.”

2014. James H. Jorgensen, et al. “Practical, portable reference for names and likely clinical features of pathogenic bacteria, fungi, viruses, and parasites. Provides clinicians with a convenient means of understanding clinical features of the microorganisms they encounter.
Features a cross-reference of new and old terminology of pathogenic microorganisms and includes material on not only the most common pathogens, but also on those less frequently recovered from patients. Examines species that may be resistant to therapy, defines various infectious syndromes, and affords users easy access to often esoteric organisms."