Images & Media: images and lectures/documentaries
Add images to your content by using these resources, use the Digital Image Rights Computator to help guide how and when you can use images for your work.
- Digital Image Rights Computator (DIRC) [via the Visual Resources Association]“The DIRC is an interactive decision tree program to help you determine what you need to do to legally use a specific image for a specific purpose. At each stage it has a brief description of the issue at hand as well as links for more detailed discussions of those issues.“
- Image Data Resource (IDR)IDR is a “public repository of reference image datasets from published scientific studies … makes datasets that have never previously been accessible publicly available, allowing the community to search, view, mine and even process and analyze large, complex, multidimensional life sciences image data. Sharing data promotes the validation of experimental methods and scientific conclusions, the comparison with new data obtained by the global scientific community, and enables data reuse by developers of new analysis and processing tools.“. Users can choose from images at a cellular level or at a tissue level.
- Microbes.info - Images linksMicrobes.info is noted as the Microbiology Information Portal and is a free “internet web site designed to bring useful and interesting microbiology informational resources to you.“ More than 20 image resource links are listed under the Images section.
- Open Image CollectionsThis is a pathfinder page providing information about over 100 free online image collections across many disciplines. It is produced and maintained by the Nanyang Technological University Library in Singapore.
- Open-iThis open-access biomedical image search engine in is Beta test but has good retrievals for most major biomedical topics. Open-i helps “users retrieve not only the MEDLINE citation information, but also the outcome statements in the article and the most relevant figure from it. Further, it is possible to use the figure as a query component to find other relevant images or other visually similar images.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Public Health Image Library (PHIL) offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC’s pictures. The PHIL welcomes public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.
The imagery showcased in the PHIL is historic in nature; the contents depicted, though appropriate at the time a photograph was captured, may no longer be appropriate in the context of the current time period, and is not to be viewed as a source of the most current public health information. - MedPiXFree online medical image database, provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. All public content is peer-reviewed by an Editorial Panel.
- MERLOT II (Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching)MERLOT is a free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy. The Health Sciences section provides access to more than 3,000 multimedia items from topics ranging from cancer to nutrition to veterinary medicine in formats such as animations, presentations and tutorials and much more.
Videos of lectures and documentaries can be instructional and provide current awareness.
- Henry Stewart Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Henry Stewart Talks Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains nearly 3,000 lectures, of various lengths, created by leading world experts. Additional lectures are added monthly. The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection is divided into eleven categories: Biochemistry; Cancer; Cell Biology; Diseases, Disorders & Treatments; Drug Discovery; Genetics; Immunology; Methods; Microbiology & Virology; Neurobiology; and Pharmaceutical Science. Over 100 series cover topics such as: Agricultural Genetics; Animal Models in Biomedical Research; Antibiotic Resistance; Apoptosis; Biology and Significance of Plasmids; Biomarkers; Blood-Brain Barrier; Calcium Signaling; Cell Division Cycle; Chemical Biology; Chloroplast; Cognitive Neuroscience; Cytokines; DNA Methylation; Endoplasmic Reticulum; Epigenetics; Eukaryotic Gene Regulation; From DNA to Proteins; Gene-Environment Interactions; Good Laboratory Practice; Intro to Cheminformatics; Ion Channels; Legacy of Drosophila Genetics; Mechanisms of Ribosome Function; Microarrays; Microbiota; Mitochondrial Biogenesis; Molecular Basis of Bacterial Infection; Molecular Chaperones; Non-Clinical Testing for Toxicity of Pharmaceuticals; Obesity; Prions and Amyloids; Protein Folding, Aggregation and Design; Protein Phosphorylation; Retroviruses; RNA Interference; Statistical Methods for the Analysis of Genome-Wide Association Studies; Stem Cells; Synapses, Neurotransmitters and Receptor Channels; Using Bioinformatics in the Exploration of Genetic Diversity; World of Hormones.
[Coverage: 2007-present] - Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service, works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies, offers thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Covers diverse subjects and disciplines. Collections include titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
