Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
Searching in the UC Davis Library Catalog requires looking for broader topics such as bacterial signaling or viral genetics rather than the more specific yersinia quorum sensing or zika gene expression.
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and the ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.
Locate books in person:
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE Used for publications located at Shields Library.
NLM Classification Outline National Library of Medicine (uses class W instead of R) - books at the Blaisdell Medical Library, UC Davis Medical Center, Sacramento are classified using this system.
QW subclass includes works on Microbiology. Immunology
CLASS Q - SCIENCE
Microbiology literature is located mainly in the Q life sciences areas in the Shields Library stacks - all on the third floor.
QR subclass Microbiology
QR1-502 All Microbiology
QR1-74.5 Microbiology, General
QR75-99.5 Bacteria
QR99.6-99.8 Cyanobacteria
QR100-130 Microbial ecology
QR115 Food microbiology
QR171 Microorganisms in the animal body
QR180-189.5 Immunology
QR355-502 Virology
NOTE that applied or environmental microbiology print publications — including those about disease-causing microbes (whether in plants, humans or animals); or useful microbes in biotechnology and food science — will be found under other areas such as medicine (R), agriculture (S), and technology (T) classifications. See categories below.
CLASS R - MEDICINE
RA subclass Public Health
RA639-642 Transmission of disease
RA643-645 Disease (Communicable and noninfectious) and public health
RA648.5-767 Epidemics. Epidemiology. Quarantine. Disinfection
CLASS S - AGRICULTURE
S subclass Agriculture (General)
S590-599.9 Soils. Soil Science (including soil microbiology)
SB subclass Plant culture
SB621-795 Plant Pathology
SF subclass Animal culture
SF600-1100 Veterinary Medicine PLEASE NOTE: with the closure of the Carlson Health Sciences Library in June 2022, print-only Veterinary Medicine publications that are high-use, core titles, reference materials, and serials titles will be moved to appropriate locations in Shields Library over 2022-2023.
SF780.2-780.7 Veterinary microbiology, bacteriology, virology, mycology
SF780.9 Veterinary epidemiology. Epizootiology
SF781-809 Communicable diseases of animals (General)
SF810 Veterinary parasitology
SH subclass Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
SH171-179 Fish culture - Diseases and adverse factors
CLASS T - TECHNOLOGY
TP subclass Chemical Technology (including biochemical)
TP248.13-248.65 Biotechnology
TP 371-373 Food microbiology incl. fermented foods
TP500-660 Fermentation industries. Beverages. Alcohol
- Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Access eBooks via major agricultural/veterinary medicine publisher collections:
- CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
- Wageningen Academic Publishers eBooksUC Davis has current years of eBooks licensed from this large university publisher of agriculture-related books. “Wageningen Academic Publishers is an independent STM publisher operating worldwide in the field of Life Sciences. Located at the heart of one of the world’s most famous food & agriculture research centres, we focus on topics in Animal and Veterinary, Food and Health, Agribusiness and Rural Studies, Agriculture and Environment. We currently publish ... around 30 new books per year.” Exclusions: textbooks
- VetMed Resource This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 1 million research records, more than 25,500 full text documents, and 842 datasheets covering diseases and pathogens of animals, VetMed Resource is the most comprehensive source of information on all aspects of veterinary medicine. Accesses CAB Abstracts with a veterinary filter.
[Coverage: 1972-current]
Access eBooks via major publisher collections:
- Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture. See also: Advanced Search and Taylor and Francis journals .
- Science Direct eBook CollectionThousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.
- Wiley eBooks CollectionFull-text searching and access to more than 22,000 ebooks from the life, physical, health, and social sciences, as well as the humanities disciplines.
Coverage: 1790 - present - Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2020. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. NOTE: Springer puts out new year titles 6 months before the new year date. Our contract is from Jan-Dec so a very recent book may not be accessible the first months of the new year. For example a 2021 book may be released in August 2020 but is NOT accessible until well into 2021.
Read Less
Coverage: 2005-2022
- De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press.
UCD has also purchased frontlists for:
Columbia University Press: 2019-2022
Cornell University Press: 2019-2022
Harvard University Press: 2018-2022
University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022
Yale University Press: 2019-2022
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles.