Databases
Health sciences databases are excellent places to start searching for relevant literature on medical education research topics. In addition, we encourage you to search in one or more multidisciplinary or education-focused databases for more comprehensive literature explorations. As you work through various stages of your project, you may also want to consult research methods databases (e.g., Sage Research Methods, Health and Psychosocial Instruments - HAPI).
Health Sciences Databases
- PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed for UC Davis offers users more options for accessing full-text articles than the public version of pubmed.gov. Search results in the UCD version display "Get it at UC" buttons providing (with on-campus or VPN connection) access to articles in journals licensed by UC Davis or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online. PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. [Coverage: 1902-present]
- CINAHL Complete: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is an acronym for the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It provides comprehensive coverage of the English language nursing literature. [Coverage: 1937-present]
Education Databases
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. [Coverage: 1966-present]
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowEducation Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides access to journal articles, books, reports, conference papers, and educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed.
[Coverage: 1840-present] - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowNOTE: There are a limited number of simultaneous users >> please LOGOFF when finished. HAPI is an excellent source for locating or reviewing health and psychosocial measurement instruments. It is an index to journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI includes citations to questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests.
[Coverage: 1985 to date, with many earlier measures] - Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods (SRM) is an online collection of authoritative information resources (e.g., journals, books, reference, videos, podcasts, cases) on how to perform hundreds of research methods, including statistical analyses, in a wide variety of disciplines (e.g., social science, medicine and health, engineering, public policy). Also includes a suite of research tools (e.g., Methods Map, Project Planning, Which Stats Test?).
[Coverage: 1976-present] - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a very large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database for academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences. [Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823] - Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed journal content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. Conference proceedings and books are also included. [Coverage: 1900-present]
