Books & E-Books
To identify both print and e-book holdings at UC Davis Library, consult the online library catalog, UC Library Search.
Learn more about access options for books, including how to request interlibrary loans, book chapter scans and home delivery or how to suggest a purchase.
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and the ability to request items that are checked out to another borrower.
Selected Books
Here is a sample of books and e-books about medical education research and relevant research methods. For more research methods resources, consult Sage Research Methods on the Databases page.
- Researching Medical Education by RESEARCHING MEDICAL EDUCATION Researching Medical Education is an authoritative guide to excellence in educational research within the healthcare professions presented by the Association for the Study of Medical Education and AMEE. This text provides readers with key foundational knowledge, while introducing a range of theories and how to use them, illustrating a diversity of methods and their use, and giving guidance on practical researcher development. By linking theory, design, and methods across the spectrum of health professions education research, the text supports the improvement of quality, capacity building, and knowledge generation. Researching Medical Education includes contributions from experts and emerging researchers from five continents. The text includes information on: Developing yourself and your practice as a health professions education researcher Methods and methodologies including ethnography/digital ethnography, visual methods, critical discourse analysis, functional and corpus linguistics, critical pedagogy, critical race theory and participatory action research, and educational neuroscience methods Theories including those where relationships between context, environment, people and things matter (e.g., complexity theory, activity theory, sociomateriality, social cognitive theories and participatory practice) and those which are more individually focused (e.g., health behaviour theories, emotions in learning, instructional design, cognitive load theory and deliberate practice) Includes 10 brand new chapters Researching Medical Education is the ideal resource for anyone researching health professions education, from medical school to postgraduate training to continuing professional development. "This is an extraordinary text that combines theory and practice in medical education research. The authors represent the who's who of medical education research, and their wisdom and insights will help guide novice and experienced researchers alike." --David M. Irby, Professor Emeritus of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco, USA "Research in health professions education is maturing. This is clearly evidenced by the second edition of Researching Medical Education. In 30 chapters this book takes you on an exciting voyage on research theories and research methodologies. This book is a comprehensive resource for anyone engaging in research in health professions education." -- Cees van der Vleuten, former Director of the School of Health Professions Education, Maastricht University, The NetherlandsCall Number: E-BookISBN: 9781119839439Publication Date: 2022-12-16
Educational Research by
A practical, step-by-step core research text that balances coverage of qualitative, quantitative and combined methods Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research offers a truly balanced, inclusive, and integrated overview of the processes involved in educational research. This text first examines the general steps in the research process and then details the procedures for conducting specific types of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods studies. Direct guidance on reading research is offered throughout the text, and features provide opportunities for practice. Throughout the 6th Edition, examples are now drawn from a broad range of fields, including program evaluation, multicultural research, counseling, school psychology, and learning and cognition. In addition, enhanced coverage incorporates the latest technology-based strategies and online tools, and more information about single-subject research methods. Also available with MyLab Education MyLab is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Education helps learners understand the basic vocabulary of educational research, acquire hands-on experience, and get guided practice in understanding research articles and in conducting and reporting their own research. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Education does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Education, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab Education, search for: 0134458966 / 9780134458960 Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research plus MyLab Education with Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134519361 / 9780134519364 Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research 0134546563 / 9780134546568 MyLab Education with Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research
Call Number: Blaisdell Medical Library Reserves: LB 1028 C923e 2019ISBN: 9780134519364Publication Date: 2018-02-06
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research by
Combining the latest thinking in the field with practical, step-by-step guidance, the Third Edition of John W. Creswell and Vicki L. Plano Clark's Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research now includes seven mixed methods designs with accompanying journal articles illustrating each design. The authors walk readers through the entire research process and present updated examples from published mixed methods studies drawn from multiple disciplines. In addition, this new edition includes information about the dynamic and evolving nature of the field of mixed methods research, four additional methodological approaches, and coverage of new directions in mixed methods.
Call Number: Blaisdell Medical Library Reserves: H 62 C923d 2018ISBN: 1483344371Publication Date: 2017-10-06
Internet, Phone, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys by
The classic survey design reference, updated for the digital age For over two decades, Dillman's classic text on survey design has aided both students and professionals in effectively planning and conducting mail, telephone, and, more recently, Internet surveys. The new edition is thoroughly updated and revised, and covers all aspects of survey research. It features expanded coverage of mobile phones, tablets, and the use of do-it-yourself surveys, and Dillman's unique Tailored Design Method is also thoroughly explained. This invaluable resource is crucial for any researcher seeking to increase response rates and obtain high-quality feedback from survey questions. Consistent with current emphasis on the visual and aural, the new edition is complemented by copious examples within the text and accompanying website. This heavily revised Fourth Edition includes: Strategies and tactics for determining the needs of a given survey, how to design it, and how to effectively administer it How and when to use mail, telephone, and Internet surveys to maximum advantage Proven techniques to increase response rates Guidance on how to obtain high-quality feedback from mail, electronic, and other self-administered surveys Direction on how to construct effective questionnaires, including considerations of layout The effects of sponsorship on the response rates of surveys Use of capabilities provided by newly mass-used media: interactivity, presentation of aural and visual stimuli. The Fourth Edition reintroduces the telephone--including coordinating land and mobile. Grounded in the best research, the book offers practical how-to guidelines and detailed examples for practitioners and students alike.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 1118921305Publication Date: 2014-08-06
Medical Education Books
The following books and e-books are about medical education more generally. Each includes one or more chapters about medical education research.
- ALiEM Education Theory Made Practical SeriesA product of the ALiEM (Academic Life in Emergency Medicine) Faculty Incubator Project, this 3 volume series of e-book chapters link key educational theories to practical scenarios.
Understanding Medical Education: Evidence, Theory and Practice by
Created in partnership with the Association for the Study of Medical Education (ASME), this completely revised and updated new edition of Understanding Medical Education synthesizes the latest knowledge, evidence and best practice across the continuum of medical education. Written and edited by an international team, this latest edition continues to cover a wide range of subject matter within five broad areas - Foundations, Teaching and Learning, Assessment and Selection, Research and Evaluation, and Faculty and Learners - as well as featuring a wealth of new material, including new chapters on the science of learning, knowledge synthesis, and learner support and well-being. The third edition of Understanding Medical Education: Provides a comprehensive and authoritative resource summarizing the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice Meets the needs of all newcomers to medical education whether undergraduate or postgraduate, including those studying at certificate, diploma or masters level Offers a global perspective on medical education from leading experts from across the world Providing practical guidance and exploring medical education in all its diversity, Understanding Medical Education continues to be an essential resource for both established educators and all those new to the field.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 1119373859Publication Date: 2018-10-02
Curriculum Development for Medical Education by
A thoroughly revised and updated fourth edition of a text that has become an international standard for curriculum development in health professional education. Intended for faculty and other content experts who have an interest or responsibility as educators in their discipline, Curriculum Development for Medical Education has extended its vision to better serve a diverse professional and international audience. Building on the time-honored, practical, and user-friendly approach of the six-step model of curriculum development, this edition is richly detailed, with numerous examples of innovations that challenge traditional teaching models. In addition, the fourth edition presents * updates in our understanding of how humans learn; * a new chapter on curricula that address community needs and health equity; and * an increased emphasis throughout on health systems science, population health, equity, educational technology in health professions education, and interprofessional education. This new edition remains a cutting-edge tool and practical guidebook for faculty members and administrators responsible for the educational experiences of health professional students, residents, fellows, and practitioners. It includes chapters on each of the steps of curriculum development, with updated examples and questions to guide the application of the timeless principles. Subsequent chapters cover curriculum maintenance and enhancement, dissemination, and curriculum development for larger programs. Appendixes present examples of full curricula designed using the six-step approach, which is widely recognized as the current standard for publication and dissemination of new curricula and provides a basis for meaningful educational interventions, scholarship, and career advancement for the health professional educator. The book also provides curricular, faculty development, and funding resources. Contributors: Chadia N. Abras, Belinda Y. Chen, Heidi L. Gullett, Mark T. Hughes, David E. Kern, Brenessa M. Lindeman, Pamela A. Lipsett, Mary L. O'Connor Leppert, Amit K. Pahwa, Deanna Saylor, Mamta K. Singh, Sean A. Tackett, Patricia A. Thomas
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 1421444119Publication Date: 2022-08-30
A Practical Guide for Medical Teachers by
The Fifth Edition of the highly praised Practical Guide for Medical Teachers provides a bridge between the theoretical aspects of medical education and the delivery of enthusiastic and effective teaching in basic science and clinical medicine. Healthcare professionals are committed teachers and this book is an essential guide to help them maximise their performance. This highly regarded book recognises the importance of educational skills in the delivery of quality teaching in medicine. The contents offer valuable insights into all important aspects of medical education today. A leading educationalist from the USA joins the book's editorial team. The continual emergence of new topics is recognised in this new edition with nine new chapters: The role of patients as teachers and assessors; Medical humanities; Decision-making; Alternative medicine; Global awareness; Education at a time of ubiquitous information; Programmative assessment; Student engagement; and Social accountability. An enlarged group of authors from more than 15 countries provides both an international perspective and a multi-professional approach to topics of interest to all healthcare teachers.
Call Number: Blaisdell Medical Library: W 18 P8953 2017ISBN: 0702068918Publication Date: 2017-06-30
Essential Skills for a Medical Teacher by
Perfect for new teachers in undergraduate, postgraduate, or continuing education, as well as more experienced educators who want to assess, improve, and gain new perspectives on teaching and learning, Essential Skills for a Medical Teacher is a useful, easy-to-read professional resource. This book offers a concise introduction to the field of medical education, with key coverage of educational models and theory that can help inform teaching practice. Clear illustrations and practical tips throughout make it an excellent starting point for those new to the field of medical education or who want to facilitate more effective learning for their students or trainees. Provides hints drawn from practical experience that help you create powerful learning opportunities for your students, with readable guidelines and new techniques that can be adopted for use in any teaching program. Includes new coverage of "just-in-time" learning, entrustable professional activities, steps on introducing outcome/competency-based education, selecting a teaching method, programmatic assessment, self-assessment, the student and patient as partners in the education process, the changing role of the teacher, bringing about change, and the future of medical education. Covers recent developments in our understanding of the relationship between learning and technology, as well as curriculum planning and curriculum mapping. Offers practical advice from leading international expert Professor Ronald Harden and co-author Jennifer Laidlaw, who has designed and taught many courses for medical teachers. Prompts you to reflect on your own performance as an educator, as well as analyze with colleagues the different ways that your work can be approached and how your students' or trainees' learning can be made more effective. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Significant developments will be highlighted throughout this revised edition including the case for 'just-in-time' learning, the concept of learning and technology not learning technology, the implementation in practice of competency based education, a fundamental rethink of assessment with programmatic assessment and the development of the role of the student and the patient as partners in the education process. The text will be updated with recent references with regard to the importance of the teacher and educational concepts such as feedback and individualisation. Reference will be made to the role of the teacher as a scholar and professional as noted in the new book 'The eight roles of the Medical Teacher' where the themes are described in more detail. Outcome/competency based education has been an important development in medical education and this will be reflected in the new edition. The section on addressing teaching and learning methods will be revised recognising developments in our understanding of the relation between learning and technology, the importance of the teacher's tool kit and the increasing options within it. The difference between individualised learning, personalised learning, personal learning and differentiated learning will be clarified. The section on the curriculum will be maintained and will reflect developments in curriculum planning including curriculum mapping. The final section on assessment will present the developments in the area including the closer integration of assessment into the education programme and the challenges of relating assessment to the competencies and outcomes as described in Section 2. The role of self-assessment will be emphasised.
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780702078545Publication Date: 2020-12-07
