Marine Sciences & Oceanography

2016. Edited by Michael J. Kennish. This volume "provides a single, state-of-the-art, comprehensive reference volume on estuaries for research scientists, educators, students, and others. Consisting of almost 270 subject entries in an easy-to-use format, this volume covers the physical, chemical, and biological characteristics of estuaries. In total more than 225 authors from around the world have contributed to the encyclopedia on such diverse subjects as biotic communities, essential habitats, food webs, fisheries, hydrology, pollution, conservation, and many more."

Continuously updated. Edited by Jan Harff et al. This volume addresses "Globally growing demand of energy and mineral resources, reliable future projection of climate processes and the protection of coasts to mitigate the threats of disasters and hazards require a comprehensive understanding of the structure, ongoing processes and genesis of the marine geosphere. Beyond the “classical” research fields in marine geology in current time more general concepts have been evolved integrating marine geophysics, hydrography, marine biology, climatology and ecology. As an umbrella the term “marine geosciences” has been broadly accepted for this new complex field of research and the solutions of practical tasks in the marine realm."

2020. Edited by Se-Kwon Kim. This "keystone reference" of five volumes "provides comprehensive coverage of topics in marine biotechnology. It starts with the history of the field and delivers a complete overview of marine biotechnology. It then offers information on marine organisms, bioprocess techniques, marine natural products, biomaterials, bioenergy, and algal biotechnology. The encyclopedia also covers marine food and biotechnology applications in areas such as pharmaceuticals, cosmeceuticals, and nutraceuticals. Each topic in Encyclopedia of Marine Biotechnology is followed by 10-30 subtopics. The reference looks at algae cosmetics, drugs, and fertilizers; biodiversity; chitins and chitosans; aeroplysinin-1, toluquinol, astaxanthin, and fucoxanthin; and algal and fish genomics. It examines neuro-protective compounds from marine microorganisms; potential uses and medical management of neurotoxic phycotoxins; and the role of metagenomics in exploring marine microbiomes. Other sections fully explore marine microbiology, pharmaceutical development, seafood science, and the new biotechnology tools that are being used in the field today."

2011. Edited by David Hopley. "Coral reefs are the largest landforms built by plants and animals. Their study therefore incorporates a wide range of disciplines. This encyclopedia approaches coral reefs from an earth science perspective, concentrating especially on modern reefs. Currently coral reefs are under high stress, most prominently from climate change with changes to water temperature, sea level and ocean acidification particularly damaging. Modern reefs have evolved through the massive environmental changes of the Quaternary with long periods of exposure during glacially lowered sea level periods and short periods of interglacial growth. The entries in this encyclopedia condense the large amount of work carried out since Charles Darwin first attempted to understand reef evolution. Leading authorities from many countries have contributed to the entries covering areas of geology, geography and ecology, providing comprehensive access to the most up-to-date research on the structure, form and processes operating on Quaternary coral reefs."

2007. Edited by Mark W. Denny et al. Volume 1 in the series "Encyclopedias of the Natural World". "This comprehensive encyclopedia is an authoritative, one-stop reference for everyone interested in the biology and ecology of ... [tidepools and rocky shores] ... Conveniently arranged alphabetically, nearly 200 wide-ranging entries written in clear language by scientists from around the world provide a state-of-the-art picture of tidepools and rocky shore science. From Abalones, Barnacles, and Climate Change through Seagrasses, Tides, and Wind, the articles discuss the animals and plants that live in tidepools, the physics and chemistry of the rocky shore environment, the ecological principles that govern tidepools, and many other interdisciplinary topics."

2009. Edited by Rosemary Gillespie et al.
Volume 2 in the series Encyclopedias of the Natural World. " Islands have captured the imagination of scientists and the public for centuries--unique and rare environments, their isolation makes them natural laboratories for ecology and evolution. This authoritative, alphabetically arranged reference, featuring more than 200 succinct articles by leading scientists from around the world, provides broad coverage of all the island sciences. But what exactly is an island? The volume editors define it here as any discrete habitat isolated from other habitats by inhospitable surroundings. The Encyclopedia of Islands examines many such insular settings--oceanic and continental islands as well as places such as caves, mountaintops, and whale falls at the bottom of the ocean. This essential, one-stop resource, extensively illustrated with color photographs, clear maps, and graphics will introduce island science to a wide audience and spur further research on some of the planet's most fascinating habitats."

2024 (2nd ed.) Edited by Sarah Alderman, et al. This three-volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of fish physiology.
Volume 1. The nervous system and sensing of the environment -- Endocrine and immune systems -- Behavioural physiology -- Reproduction and development -- Gas exchange and ion homeostasis -- Volume 2. Heart, vasculature, and blood -- Energy homeostasis -- Muscles and movement -- Volume 3. Responses and adaptations to the environment -- Physiological specializations of different fish groups -- Biomechanics & bioinspired design -- Applications of fish physiology.

Third edition (2018). Edited by Bernd Würsig et al. This volume "covers the ecology, behavior, conservation, evolution, form and function of whales, dolphins, seals, sea lions, manatees, dugongs, otters and polar bears. This edition provides new content on anthropogenic concerns, latest information on emerging threats such as ocean noise, and impacts of climate change." Includes "Visual maps of the oceans and seas mentioned in contributions ..."

2011. Edited by Daniel Simberloff. Volume 3 in the series "Encyclopedias of the Natural World". This work “addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level—including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria—in succinct, alphabetically arranged articles. … the volume encompasses fields of study including biology, demography, geography, ecology, evolution, sociology, and natural history. …[includes an] … an appendix of the world’s worst 100 invasive species, a glossary, and more …”

2019. Edited by Brian D. Fath. Four-volume set with over 500 contributors covering the following:
“Volume 1. Aquatic ecology ; Behavioral ecology ; Conservation ecology ; Ecological complexity -- volume 2. Ecological data analysis and modeling ; Ecological processes ; Ecosystems -- volume 3. Evolutionary ecology ; General ecology -- volume 4. Global change ecology ; Human ecology and sustainability ; Terrestrial and Landscape ecology.”

2012. Edited by Louis J. Gross and Alan Hastings (UCD Faculty). Volume 4 in the series "Encyclopedias of the Natural World". Provides an “overview of the current state of theoretical ecology through a series of topical entries centered on both ecological and statistical themes. Coverage ranges across scales—from the physiological, to populations, landscapes, and ecosystems. Entries provide an introduction to broad fields such as Applied Ecology, Behavioral Ecology, Computational Ecology, Ecosystem Ecology, Epidemiology and Epidemic Modeling, Population Ecology, Spatial Ecology and Statistics in Ecology. Others provide greater specificity and depth, including discussions on the Allee effect, ordinary differential equations, and ecosystem services. Descriptions of modern statistical and modeling approaches and how they contributed to advances in theoretical ecology are also included.”

2nd edition (2017). Edited by Simon A. Levin. “… this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. “Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.” Over 320 articles with “approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms”. Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates.”

2020. Edited by Michael I. Goldstein et al. Five-volume set covering the “global synthesis of biomes … All of the book's chapters follow a common thematic order that spans biodiversity importance, principal anthropogenic stressors and trends, changing climatic conditions, and conservation strategies for maintaining biomes in an increasingly human-dominated world.”

Second edition (2008). Edited by Marlene Weigel. “ … this 3-volume encyclopedia provides "detailed comparative essays on major biomes and their component ecosystems. Includes entries on land biomes and water biomes and covers climate, elevation, soil, water bodies, vegetation, animal life, food web, plant and animal adaptations, endangered species, human effects on the biome and the effects of the environment on humans' culture and economy."

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.
•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.
•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

Second edition (2020). Edited by Yeqiao Wang. Volume V in The Handbook of Natural Resources series. This volume "discusses marine and coastal ecosystems, their biodiversity, conservation, and integrated marine management plans. It provides fundamental information on coastal and estuarine systems and includes discussions on coastal erosion and shoreline change, natural disasters, evaporation and energy balance, fisheries and marine resource management, and more. New in this edition are discussions on sea level rise, renewable energy, coral reef restoration, fishery resource economics, and coastal remote sensing. This volume demonstrates the key processes, methods, and models used through many case studies from around the world."

Second edition (2020). Edited by Yeqiao Wang. Volume III in The Handbook of Natural Resources series. This volume "provides fundamental information on wetlands and their integral functions as a productive ecosystem. The topics it covers include wetlands biodiversity, wetlands classification and monitoring, floods, river ecosystems, pollution, and more. New to this edition are discussions on wetland vegetation, assessment of current wetland health status, restoration, sea-level rises and coastal storm, vulnerability to human impacts, and lakes and wetlands remote sensing. This volume demonstrates the key processes, methods, and models used through many case studies from around the world."

Continuously updated. Eschmeyer's Catalog of Fishes is the authoritative reference for taxonomic fish names, featuring a searchable on-line database by family/subfamily, family group names and more.

2016. Edited by Harold E. Mooney et al. Several chapters have UCD faculty contributors. This “reference and sourcebook for California's remarkable ecological abundance provides an integrated assessment of each major ecosystem type - its distribution, structure, function, and management. … Ecosystems of California covers the state from oceans to mountaintops using multiple lenses: past and present, flora and fauna, aquatic and terrestrial, natural and managed. Each chapter evaluates natural processes for a specific ecosystem, describes drivers of change, and discusses how that ecosystem may be altered in the future. This book also explores the drivers of California's ecological patterns and the history of the state's various ecosystems, outlining how the challenges of climate change and invasive species and opportunities for regulation and stewardship could potentially affect the state's ecosystems. The text explicitly incorporates both human impacts and conservation and restoration efforts and shows how ecosystems support human well-being.”

Fourth edition (2019). Edited by Michael J. Kennish. This work is "a state-of-the-art reference that updates the field of marine science to meet the interdisciplinary research needs of physical oceanographers, marine biologists, marine chemists, and marine geologists. This edition adds an entirely new section devoted to Climate Change and Climate Change Effects. It also adds new sections on Estuaries, Beaches, Barrier Islands, Shellfish, Macroalgae, Food Chains, Food Webs, Trophic Dynamics, System Productivity, Physical-Chemical-Biological Alteration, and Coastal Resource Management. The Handbook assembles an extensive international collection of marine science data throughout, with approximately 1,000 tables and illustrations. It provides comprehensive coverage of anthropogenic impacts in estuarine and marine ecosystems from local, regional, and global perspectives.'

Original content from 1920s+. Comprehensive update with move to online for 2010+.RESEARCH level handbook with GERMAN as first language. Online continuously updated version of De Gruyter’s Handbook of Zoology covering over 100 years of zoological research. Includes original Handbook material (> 28,000 pages) reordered along taxonomic (instead of bibliographical) categories. PLEASE NOTE: publication language of the core historical volumes is German. ENGLISH language sections are currently under the Browseable section “Ahead of Print” but are slowly being integrated into the main volumes below. Browseable volumes are organized in 8 larger volume collections as follows:

•Protozoa, Porifera, Colenteratea, Mesozoa (Vol. 1)
•Vermes Amera (Vol. 2)
•Arthropoda ex. Insecta (Vol. 3)
•Arthropoda: Insecta (Vol. 4)
•Solenogastres, Mollusca, Echinoderma (Vol. 5)
•Pisces/Amphibia (Vol. 6)
•Reptilia, Aves (Vol. 7)
•Mammalia (Vol. 8)

2011. Edited by Eric Wolanski. “Comprehensive 12-volume work on all aspects of coastal and estuarine science. Includes chapters as follows:
v. 1. Classification of estuarine and nearshore coastal ecosystems
v. 2. Water and fine sediment circulation
v. 3. Estuarine and coastal geology and geomorphology
v. 4. Geochemistry of estuaries and coasts
v. 5. Biogeochemistry
v. 6. Trophic relationships of coastal and estuarine ecosystems
v. 7. Functioning of ecosystems at the land-ocean interface
v. 8. Human-induced problems (uses and abuses)
v. 9. Estuarine and coastal ecosystem modelling
v. 10. Ecohydrology and restoration
v. 11. Management of estuaries and coasts
v. 12. Ecological economics of estuaries and coasts”

This classic and comprehensive book series or treatise is now in the 50th year of publication (started in 1974) with addition of the 40th B volume set. “ The treatise “Fish Physiology” is the culmination of many contributors from the international consortium of fish physiologists and other interested persons. This broad collection of like-minded people involved many subgroups but no overarching structure or organization, yet they all wished to bring some new level of synthesis and integration to a timely aspect of fish physiology. Academic Press, the original publishers, imposed length and layout and decided the books would have a green cover. Content was entirely left to the editors. Each volume represents the views of individual specialists on the subject under discussion. However, while discussing functional processes, the authors have referred to a wealth of comparative material so that the treatise has become more than an account of the physiology of fishes; it contains many fundamental concepts and principles important in the broad field of comparative animal physiology.”

Fifth edition (2015). Edited by Michael Allaby. Oxford Reference Library. Classic, comprehensive dictionary covering “all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology.”