The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global biodiversity commons. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts with information on over 150 million species names.
As of 2021: AquaDocs is the joint open access repository of the UNESCO/IOC InternationaI Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) and the International Association of Aquatic and Marine Science Libraries and Information Centers (IAMSLIC) with support from the FAO Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts. It is a thematic repository covering the natural marine, coastal, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments and includes all aspects of the science, technology, management and conservation of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects. This is a merger of Aquatic Commons and OceanDocs. The Aquatic Commons is a thematic digital repository covering the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments . It includes all aspects of the science, technology, management and conservation of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects. It is complementary to OceanDocs, which is supported by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) specifically to collect, preserve and facilitate access to all research output from members of their Ocean Data and Information Networks (ODINS). The records of both repositories are harvested by Avano which aggregates records from marine and aquatic repositories around the World. (RG 12/11/13)
Relational database on fish from around the world including information on: taxonomy, synonym tables, average sizes and weights, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, diagnosis, biology, Red list status, life history, reproduction, ecology, genetics, illustrations, photographs and much more. Developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC).
Administered by: University of California and powered by the California Digital Library
This UC platform hosts OA content by the university’s researchers and “provides Open-Access scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars worldwide.”
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UC campuses, and those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. Although there is significant overlap with Google books, this site has a much more effective and sophisticated search interface. For additional details, see the HathiTrust Help Page.
The DOAJ covers nearly 5500 open access scholarly journals that range in subject coverage spanning the sciences, humanities and social sciences; half of these periodicals are searchable at the article level. All journals are peer-reviewed or have high editorial quality. Content includes scientific and scholarly periodicals that publish research or review papers in full text. Publications may emanate from international academic, government, commercial, non-profit private sources. To be included in the DOAJ, an open access journal must use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access and allow researchers to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles.
[Coverage: Varies by journal title]