Research Guides: Marine Sciences &amp; Oceanography: Datasets, Data Series, Data Repositories, Data Systems

Datasets, Data Series, Data Repositories, Data Systems

The UC Davis Data Lab provides Research Data Services and is happy to assist with your data questions. See this extensive resource webpage:

Research Data Services

Below are specific data resources and tools including some that are directly related to marine science and oceanography.

Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes research data sets and data studies from a wide range of international data repositories in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Discover research data connected to articles published in journals, books, and conference proceedings. Links directly to data repositories for easy access to the deposited data sets. Includes two disciplinary sections: Science and Social Sciences & Humanities.
[Coverage: 1900 - current]
Ecological Archives and Data Papers This link opens in a new window
Ecological Archives provides supplemental materials for articles published between 1981 to 2015 in these Ecological Society of America (ESA) journals: Ecology, Ecological Applications, Ecological Monographs, Ecosphere, Ecosystem Health and Sustainability and Bulletin of the Ecological Society of America.
Data Papers with abstracts published in the printed journals are also available. Data Papers are compilations and syntheses of data sets and associated metadata deemed to be of significant interest to the ESA membership and the scholarly community.
For 2016 on, supplemental material and Data Papers are available here: https://esajournals.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/
[Coverage: 1981-2015]
Dryad This link opens in a new window
Dryad is an open-source, research data curation and publication platform. UC Davis is a partner of Dryad and offers Dryad as a free service for all UC Davis researchers to publish and archive their data. Datasets published in Dryad receive a citation and can be versioned at any time. Dryad is integrated with hundreds of journals and is an easy way to both publish data and comply with funder and publisher mandates.
JDAP (Joint Data Archiving Policy)

World Ocean Database
Produced by NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI). "The World Ocean Database (WOD) is world's largest collection of uniformly formatted, quality controlled, publicly available ocean profile data. It is a powerful tool for oceanographic, climatic, and environmental research, and the end result of more than 20 years of coordinated efforts to incorporate data from institutions, agencies, individual researchers, and data recovery initiatives into a single database. WOD data spans from Captain Cook's 1772 voyage to the contemporary Argo period, making it a valuable resource for long term and historical ocean climate analysis. Original versions of the 20,000+ datasets in the WOD are available through the NCEI archives."
Marine Data Portals and Tools [article]
Comprehensive list of major international, and national data portals for marine sciences and oceanography. Also includes general data repositories at the end of the article.

Marine Sciences & Oceanography

Datasets, Data Series, Data Repositories, Data Systems

Research Support

Undergraduates and their instructors should contact:

Grad students, post-docs, faculty and researchers should contact: