Key Resources for Marine Sciences & Oceanography
This guide covers all aspects of marine sciences & oceanography including: atmospheric science, biogeochemistry, chemical oceanography, ecology, meteorology, physical oceanography and more.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating marine sciences & oceanography literature.
Please note:
Comprehensive literature searching in Marine Sciences & Oceanography requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since marine sciences/oceanography is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
UCD's most important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1971-present; varies by subfile,earlier for selected core titles] - Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new windowOrganizes, summaries, and indexes worldwide technical literature on the marine and brackish water environments. Oceanic Abstracts covers marine biology and biological oceanography, physical and chemical oceanography, meteorology, geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, conservation, environmental protection, fisheries, aquaculture, nonliving resources and technology, ships and shipping, navigation and communications.
[Coverage: 1981-present]
