2000. Robert A. Palmatier. “This dictionary explores the relationship between the literal and the nonliteral (idiomatic and metaphorical) language of the cooking and eating of food. Each entry contains a description of the historical background of each of the two types of language, and the works that record the terms.”
2014 edition. Edited by the former Dean of the UCD College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Dr. Neal Van Alfen. This five-volume set “covers the breadth of issues that define modern agriculture and food systems. Many of the topics discussed are those widely defined as traditional agriculture, i.e. crops, animals, their production systems and protection from pests and diseases.”
2020 edition. Edited by RIchard W. Hazlett. This work “presents an authoritative overview of the role and impacts of agriculture on the natural and human environments, from its origins historically to current praxis and outlooks. Major themes include: global and regional environmental change and the evolution of agriculture, historical styles of agriculture, research needs in agriculture, famine, agricultural pollutants, and the future of agriculture.”
2019 Second edition. Edited by Paul B. Thompson. This is a “ definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important area of food and agricultural ethics. Altogether about 100 new entries appear in this new edition. The start of the 21st century has seen intensified debate, discussion, and criticism of food and agriculture. Scholars, activists, and citizens increasingly question the goals and ethical rationale behind production, distribution and consumption of food, and the use of crops for fuel and fiber. These wide-ranging debates encompass questions in human nutrition, animal rights, and the environmental impacts of agricultural production. The encyclopedia provides a detailed analysis of these issues and hundreds of other topics including the use of antibiotics in animal feedlots, the Green Revolution, organic farming, Islam and Food, and cannibalism.The Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics, 2nd edition is an indispensable reference point for future research and writing on topics in agriculture, food, animal, and eating ethics.”
2021 edition. Edited by Shauna M. McIntyre. This work takes a “deep dive into the origins of organic farming, offering a clear discussion of what constitutes organic production and how that has changed over time. Next, the volume provides a comprehensive overview of growth of organics as both an industry and a social movement and the inherent challenges that occur from trying to be both. … covers controversial issues and challenges, along with good news about what is working and what is possible. Included are essays by scholars, farmers, and experts working with NGOs as well as profiles of key people and organizations in the organic sector. Additional chapters include data and documents, a comprehensive resource list, and a detailed chronology of the key events in the history of the organic sector. ”
2019 third edition. Edited by Myer Kutz. This is an “essential reference for understanding the food industry, from farm machinery, to dairy processing, food storage facilities and the machinery that processes and packages foods. … The book's chapters include an excellent overview of food engineering, but also regulation and safety information, machinery design for the various stages of food production, from tillage, to processing and packaging.”
Agriculture handbook numbers 1-<726>; 1950 to present. Continuously updating index to USDA Agriculture Handbooks series based on contents of original 1992 print title with capability to search by USDA Agriculture Handbooks' titles, series' document numbers, or subject matter and links to selected full-text USDA Agriculture Handbooks on the Internet.
“ Historical data only for USDA nationwide statistical charts and graphs on agriculture, the farm sector, rural America, nutrition, food safety, and natural resources. Archived editions 1994 through 2001/2002 are available online through HathiTrust. The previous title, Fact Book of U.S. Agriculture, had a more narrative and less detailed approach. Published from 1962 to 1989, some volumes are available in the Internet Archive and HathiTrust.”
2020 (3rd ed.) Joan Webster-Gandy ed. et al.
“ The importance of nutrition in the prevention and treatment of disease and the maintenance of good health is being increasingly recognised. Nutrition is an area that all health professionals need to be aware of and yet one in which few are specifically trained. However it is now becoming a valued topic in many curricula. The Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics makes this information more accessible to dieticians, doctors, nurses, nutritionists, and other healthcare professionals by providing a practical, easily accessible, concise and up-to-date evidence-based guide in a user-friendly portable handbook. It covers the entire life cycle from preconception to old age. As the general public is increasingly aware of the food they eat and the role nutrition plays in health and disease, health professionals must have the kind of knowledge in this book at their fingertips.”
2018. Anne Barnhill ed. et al. “Food ethics, as an academic pursuit, is vast, incorporating work from philosophy as well as anthropology, economics, environmental sciences and other natural sciences, geography, law, and sociology. This Handbook provides a sample of recent philosophical work in food ethics. This philosophical work addresses ethical issues with agricultural production, the structure of the global food system, the ethics of personal food consumption, the ethics of food policy, and cultural understandings of food and eating, among other issues. The work in this Handbook draws on multiple literatures within philosophy, including practical ethics, normative ethics, and political philosophy, as well as drawing on non-philosophical work.”
2020. Peter Chi Keung Cheung ed. et al. This work “ … a comprehensive reference for the various chemical aspects of foods and food products. Apart from the traditional knowledge, this book covers the most recent research and development of food chemistry in the areas of functional foods and nutraceuticals, organic and genetically modified foods, nonthermal food processing and molecular gastronomy, as well as nanotechnology. This handbook contains both the basic and advanced chemistry both for food research and its practical applications in various food related industries and businesses. This book is appropriate for undergraduates and postgraduates in the academics and professionals from the various disciplines and industries who are interested in applying knowledge of food chemistry in their respective fields.”
2016. Romain Jeantet, ed. “This book serves as a general introduction to food science and technology, based on the academic courses presented by the authors as well as their personal research experiences.
The authors' main focus is on the biological and physical-chemical stabilization of food, and the quality assessment control methods and normative aspects of the subsequent processes.
Presented across three parts, the authors offer a detailed account of the scientific basis and technological knowledge needed to understand agro-food transformation. From biological analyses and process engineering, through to the development of food products and biochemical and microbiological changes, the different parts cover all aspects of the control of food quality.”
2016. Romain Jeantet, ed. “This book is a source of basic and advanced knowledge in food science for students or professionals in the food science sector, but it is also accessible for people interested in the different aspects concerning raw material stabilisation and transformation in food products. It is an updated and translated version of the book "Science des aliments" published in 2006 by Lavoisier. "Science des aliments" is a general and introductory food science and technology handbook, based on the authors' Masters and PhD courses and research experiences. The book is concise, pedagogical and informative and contains numerous illustrations (approximately 500 original figures and tables). In three volumes), it summarizes the main knowledge required for working in food industries as scientists, technical managers or qualified operators.”
2016. Romain Jeantet, ed. “This third volume in the Handbook of Food Science and Technology Set explains the processing of raw materials into traditional food (bread, wine, cheese, etc.). The agri-food industry has evolved in order to meet new market expectations of its products; with the use of separation and assembly technologies, food technologists and engineers now increasingly understand and control the preparation of a large diversity of ingredients using additional properties to move from the raw materials into new food products.
Taking into account the fundamental basis and technological specificities of the main food sectors, throughout the three parts of this book, the authors investigate the biological and biochemical conversions and physicochemical treatment of food from animal sources, plant sources and food ingredients.”
2011 (3rd ed.) Carolyn D. Berdanier. This handbook “… explains hundreds of terms commonly used in medicine, food science, metabolism, physiology, and nutrition. … Included in this edition are the many drugs that are used to manage nutrition-related conditions. Cardiovascular disease, diabetes, hypertension, obesity, and so forth are diseases that, while incurable, are manageable. Many medical conditions have a nutrient component to their development as well as a genetic component and the major ones are described. Some of the rare genetic diseases relevant to nutrition and metabolism are also listed. Many drugs used in the management of chronic disease are of interest to the nutritionist so these drugs are listed.”