Documentaries & Films
Food science or nutritional science as disciplines are very well represented in a variety of documentaries. The videos from the below sources are excellent for background information and for classroom instruction.
Note that an entire area of cooking and food culture is well covered in documentaries but also in filmography.
- Henry Stewart Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Henry Stewart Talks Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains nearly 3,000 lectures, of various lengths, created by leading world experts. Additional lectures are added monthly. The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection is divided into eleven categories: Biochemistry; Cancer; Cell Biology; Diseases, Disorders & Treatments; Drug Discovery; Genetics; Immunology; Methods; Microbiology & Virology; Neurobiology; and Pharmaceutical Science. Over 100 series cover topics such as: Agricultural Genetics; Animal Models in Biomedical Research; Antibiotic Resistance; Apoptosis; Biology and Significance of Plasmids; Biomarkers; Blood-Brain Barrier; Calcium Signaling; Cell Division Cycle; Chemical Biology; Chloroplast; Cognitive Neuroscience; Cytokines; DNA Methylation; Endoplasmic Reticulum; Epigenetics; Eukaryotic Gene Regulation; From DNA to Proteins; Gene-Environment Interactions; Good Laboratory Practice; Intro to Cheminformatics; Ion Channels; Legacy of Drosophila Genetics; Mechanisms of Ribosome Function; Microarrays; Microbiota; Mitochondrial Biogenesis; Molecular Basis of Bacterial Infection; Molecular Chaperones; Non-Clinical Testing for Toxicity of Pharmaceuticals; Obesity; Prions and Amyloids; Protein Folding, Aggregation and Design; Protein Phosphorylation; Retroviruses; RNA Interference; Statistical Methods for the Analysis of Genome-Wide Association Studies; Stem Cells; Synapses, Neurotransmitters and Receptor Channels; Using Bioinformatics in the Exploration of Genetic Diversity; World of Hormones.
[Coverage: 2007-present] - Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new windowOn-demand streaming video service, works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies, offers thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Covers diverse subjects and disciplines. Collections include titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films.
[Coverage: 2000-present] - DocuSeek2 (3rd ed.) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documentaries from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world. Full collection of 2400 titles is anticipated to be completed in 2023. - Swank This link opens in a new windowSwank provides access to movies and TV shows beyond homes and theaters by licensing and distributing content to non-theatrical markets including U.S. colleges and universities, K-12 public schools and libraries. Swank is one of the oldest distributors of movies and TV shows having operated since 1937. Currently, the UCD Library has licensed 24 films with Swank. PLEASE NOTE: Requesting additional licenses or accessing titles already licensed requires that you have an account. Â Requested films are licensed mostly for the period of a year.
