Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as food justice or human nutritional genetics rather than the more specific food desert economics or human nutritional epigenomics.
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and the ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.
Locate books in person:
Nutrition and food science/technology crosses several classification areas in Shields Library, but all are located on the 3rd floor except for anthropology of food.
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE
CLASS Q - SCIENCE
QP subclass Physiology
QP 140s Nutrition
CLASS R - MEDICINE
RM214-258 Diet therapy. Dietary cookbooks
RM259 Vitamin therapy
CLASS S - AGRICULTURE
S subclass Agriculture (General)
SB subclass Plant culture
SF subclass Animal culture
SF94.5-99 Feeds and feeding. Animal nutrition
SH subclass Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
CLASS T - TECHNOLOGY
TX subclass Home Economics
TX1-1110 Home economics
TX341-641 Nutrition. Foods and food supply
TX642-840 Cooking (incl. cookbooks)
TX851-885 Dining-room service
TX901-946.5 Hospitality industry. Hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc. Food service
TX950-953 Taverns, barrooms, saloons
Please Note: Clinical Nutrition materials may also be located at the Blaisdell Medical Library (BML) located at the UCD Medical Center. This library uses the National Library of Medicine Classification system for classifying the collection.
WB 400 Dietetics. Diet therapy. Nutrition therapy
Classify works on diets to be used with particular diseases with the disease. Classify works on normal dietary practice in QT 235. Classify works on nutrition and food values in QU 145-145.5. Classify works on diet or nutrition therapy in children in WS 115-132; in the aged WT 115.
See the WB classification guide for a more detailed breakdown of these nutritional and diet therapy areas.
- Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Access eBooks via major agricultural publisher collections:
- CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
- Wageningen Academic Publishers eBooksUC Davis has current years of eBooks licensed from this large university publisher of agriculture-related books. “Wageningen Academic Publishers is an independent STM publisher operating worldwide in the field of Life Sciences. Located at the heart of one of the world’s most famous food & agriculture research centres, we focus on topics in Animal and Veterinary, Food and Health, Agribusiness and Rural Studies, Agriculture and Environment. We currently publish ... around 30 new books per year.” Exclusions: textbooks
- Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture. See also: Advanced Search and Taylor and Francis journals .
Access eBooks via major publisher collections:
- Science Direct eBook CollectionThousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.
- Wiley eBooks CollectionFull-text searching and access to more than 22,000 ebooks from the life, physical, health, and social sciences, as well as the humanities disciplines.
Coverage: 1790 - present - Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2020. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. NOTE: Springer puts out new year titles 6 months before the new year date. Our contract is from Jan-Dec so a very recent book may not be accessible the first months of the new year. For example a 2021 book may be released in August 2020 but is NOT accessible until well into 2021.
Read Less
Coverage: 2005-2022
- De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press.
UCD has also purchased frontlists for:
Columbia University Press: 2019-2022
Cornell University Press: 2019-2022
Harvard University Press: 2018-2022
University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022
Yale University Press: 2019-2022
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles. - O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 45,000 titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly & Associates, including selective titles from 200+ global publishers including McGraw-Hill, Pearson Technology Group (Addison-Wesley, Alpha, Financial Times Prentice Hall, Cisco Press, New Riders, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall PTR, Que and Sams), HarperCollins, Pakt Publishers, MIT Sloan Management, ASTD, Apress, Amacom, and other learning providers. The subject coverage ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Science, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000+ hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education video. Additional information about how to customize results, develop personalized reading lists, engage in notetaking, and bookmarking is found on the Proquest LibGuide for OHE at: https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/
[Coverage: 2007-present]