Fisheries & Aquaculture

2024 (2nd ed.) Edited by Sarah Alderman, et al. This three-volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of fish physiology.
Volume 1. The nervous system and sensing of the environment -- Endocrine and immune systems -- Behavioural physiology -- Reproduction and development -- Gas exchange and ion homeostasis -- Volume 2. Heart, vasculature, and blood -- Energy homeostasis -- Muscles and movement -- Volume 3. Responses and adaptations to the environment -- Physiological specializations of different fish groups -- Biomechanics & bioinspired design -- Applications of fish physiology.

2004. Daniel Pauly. This “ encyclopaedia of ichthyology, ecology and evolution … [is] based upon everything that Charles Darwin ever wrote about fish. Entries are arranged alphabetically and can be about, for example, a particular fish taxon, an anatomical part, a chemical substance, a scientist, a place, or an evolutionary or ecological concept. The reader can start wherever they like and are then led by a series of cross-references on a fascinating voyage of interconnected entries, each indirectly or directly connected with original writings from Darwin himself. Along the way, the reader is offered interpretation of the historical material put in the context of both Darwin's time and that of contemporary biology and ecology. This book is intended for anyone interested in fishes, the work of Charles Darwin, evolutionary biology and ecology, and natural history in general.”

2007. Edited by Mark W. Denny et al. Volume 1 in the series "Encyclopedias of the Natural World". "This comprehensive encyclopedia is an authoritative, one-stop reference for everyone interested in the biology and ecology of ... [tidepools and rocky shores] ... Conveniently arranged alphabetically, nearly 200 wide-ranging entries written in clear language by scientists from around the world provide a state-of-the-art picture of tidepools and rocky shore science. From Abalones, Barnacles, and Climate Change through Seagrasses, Tides, and Wind, the articles discuss the animals and plants that live in tidepools, the physics and chemistry of the rocky shore environment, the ecological principles that govern tidepools, and many other interdisciplinary topics."

2016. Edited by Michael J. Kennish. This volume "provides a single, state-of-the-art, comprehensive reference volume on estuaries for research scientists, educators, students, and others. Consisting of almost 270 subject entries in an easy-to-use format, this volume covers the physical, chemical, and biological characteristics of estuaries. In total more than 225 authors from around the world have contributed to the encyclopedia on such diverse subjects as biotic communities, essential habitats, food webs, fisheries, hydrology, pollution, conservation, and many more."

2009. Edited by Rosemary Gillespie et al.
Volume 2 in the series Encyclopedias of the Natural World. " Islands have captured the imagination of scientists and the public for centuries--unique and rare environments, their isolation makes them natural laboratories for ecology and evolution. This authoritative, alphabetically arranged reference, featuring more than 200 succinct articles by leading scientists from around the world, provides broad coverage of all the island sciences. But what exactly is an island? The volume editors define it here as any discrete habitat isolated from other habitats by inhospitable surroundings. The Encyclopedia of Islands examines many such insular settings--oceanic and continental islands as well as places such as caves, mountaintops, and whale falls at the bottom of the ocean. This essential, one-stop resource, extensively illustrated with color photographs, clear maps, and graphics will introduce island science to a wide audience and spur further research on some of the planet's most fascinating habitats."

2011. Edited by Daniel Simberloff. This work “addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level—including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria—in succinct, alphabetically arranged articles. … the volume encompasses fields of study including biology, demography, geography, ecology, evolution, sociology, and natural history. …[includes an] … an appendix of the world’s worst 100 invasive species, a glossary, and more …”

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.
•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.
•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

Continuously updated. Eschmeyer's Catalog of Fishes is the authoritative reference for taxonomic fish names, featuring a searchable on-line database by family/subfamily, family group names and more.

2010. Edited by R. Quentin Grafton et al. This handbook is the “most comprehensive and interdisciplinary work on marine conservation and fisheries management ever compiled. It is the first to bridge fisheries and marine conservation issues. Its innovative ideas, detailed case studies, and governance framework provide a global special perspective over time and treat problems in the high seas, community fisheries, industrial fishing, and the many interactions between use and non-use of the oceans. Its policy tools and ideas for overcoming the perennial problems of over fishing, habitat and biodiversity loss address the facts that many marine ecosystems are in decline and plagued by overexploitation due to unsustainable fishing practices. An outstanding feature of the book is the detailed case-studies on conservation practice and fisheries management from around the world. … Ecosystem and incentive-based approaches are described and complemented by tools for cooperative, participatory solutions.”

2010. Claudia Harper et al. Zebrafish is one of the most extensively studied model organisms for growth and development, neurosciences, genetics, and other research areas. This “guide covers all aspects pertaining to the use of [zebrafish] including their basic biology, humane care and management, husbandry, life support systems, regulatory compliance, technical procedures, veterinary care, and water quality management.”

2022. Open access published by the Foundation for Freshwater Research and the Freshwater Biological Association. A “Practitioners' Guide to Improving and Protecting River Health: Focus on Invertebrate Monitoring and Assessment."

2017. Carole Ruth Engle et al. “ Aquaculture, the farming of aquatic animals and plants, and other seafood businesses continue to grow rapidly around the world. … The Seafood and Aquaculture Marketing Handbook provides the reader with a comprehensive, yet user-friendly presentation of key concepts and tools necessary for aquaculture and seafood businesses to evaluate and adapt to changing market conditions. … The Seafood and Aquaculture Marketing Handbook presents fundamental principles of marketing, specific discussion of aquaculture and seafood market channels and supply chains from around the world, and builds towards a step-by-step approach to strategic market planning for successful aquaculture and seafood businesses. This book is an essential reference for all aquaculture and seafood businesses as well as students of aquaculture. The volume contains a series of synopses of specific markets, an extensive annotated bibliography, and webliography for additional sources of information. Written by authors with vast experience in international marketing of aquaculture and seafood products, this volume is a valuable source of guidance for those seeking to identify profitable markets for their aquaculture and seafood products.”

2016. Edited by Harold E. Mooney et al. Several chapters have UCD faculty contributors. This “reference and sourcebook for California's remarkable ecological abundance provides an integrated assessment of each major ecosystem type - its distribution, structure, function, and management. … Ecosystems of California covers the state from oceans to mountaintops using multiple lenses: past and present, flora and fauna, aquatic and terrestrial, natural and managed. Each chapter evaluates natural processes for a specific ecosystem, describes drivers of change, and discusses how that ecosystem may be altered in the future. This book also explores the drivers of California's ecological patterns and the history of the state's various ecosystems, outlining how the challenges of climate change and invasive species and opportunities for regulation and stewardship could potentially affect the state's ecosystems. The text explicitly incorporates both human impacts and conservation and restoration efforts and shows how ecosystems support human well-being.”

Second edition (2020). Edited by Yeqiao Wang. Volume V in The Handbook of Natural Resources series. This volume "discusses marine and coastal ecosystems, their biodiversity, conservation, and integrated marine management plans. It provides fundamental information on coastal and estuarine systems and includes discussions on coastal erosion and shoreline change, natural disasters, evaporation and energy balance, fisheries and marine resource management, and more. New in this edition are discussions on sea level rise, renewable energy, coral reef restoration, fishery resource economics, and coastal remote sensing. This volume demonstrates the key processes, methods, and models used through many case studies from around the world."

This classic and comprehensive book series or treatise is now in the 50th year of publication (started in 1974) with addition of the 40th B volume set. “ The treatise “Fish Physiology” is the culmination of many contributors from the international consortium of fish physiologists and other interested persons. This broad collection of like-minded people involved many subgroups but no overarching structure or organization, yet they all wished to bring some new level of synthesis and integration to a timely aspect of fish physiology. Academic Press, the original publishers, imposed length and layout and decided the books would have a green cover. Content was entirely left to the editors. Each volume represents the views of individual specialists on the subject under discussion. However, while discussing functional processes, the authors have referred to a wealth of comparative material so that the treatise has become more than an account of the physiology of fishes; it contains many fundamental concepts and principles important in the broad field of comparative animal physiology.”

2008+ Valerie Crespi et all. Original glossary from FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) is from 2008. Online version available from FAO Term Portal and has continuous updating.

Fifth edition (2015). Edited by Michael Allaby. Oxford Reference Library. Classic, comprehensive dictionary covering “all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology.”