Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fisheries & Aquaculture

Key Resources for Fisheries & Aquaculture

This guide covers all aspects of fisheries & aquaculture including: anatomy & physiology, behavior, diseases and parasitism, ecology, nutrition and feeding, subsistence fishing, sustainable fisheries, systematics and taxonomy, and more.

Below are key resources to get you started in locating fisheries & aquaculture literature.

Please note:  

Comprehensive literature searching in Fisheries & Aquaculture requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since fisheries & aquaculture is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.


Search BIOSIS Previews or Zoological Record for the basic biology of any animal including: anatomy and physiology, behavior, ecology, genetics, molecular biology, nutrition and feeding, reproduction, and taxonomy and systematics.   NOTE:  Zoological Record is an essential database for taxonomy, systematics, and new species records.  Zoological Record is the first database to search for wildlife, particularly rare and endangered species.

Search CAB Abstracts for managed fisheries and aquaculture literature.  CAB Abstracts is also a core database for Veterinary Medicine.

ASFA is focused strictly on aquatic sciences and fisheries literature as indexed by FAO at a extensive international and gray literature level.

All life sciences subject databases will have taxonomic searching features available for searching by various taxa groups such as kingdoms or orders or families.