Key Resources for Fisheries & Aquaculture
This guide covers all aspects of fisheries & aquaculture including: anatomy & physiology, behavior, diseases and parasitism, ecology, nutrition and feeding, subsistence fishing, sustainable fisheries, systematics and taxonomy, and more.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating fisheries & aquaculture literature.
Please note:
Comprehensive literature searching in Fisheries & Aquaculture requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since fisheries & aquaculture is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
Search BIOSIS Previews or Zoological Record for the basic biology of any animal including: anatomy and physiology, behavior, ecology, genetics, molecular biology, nutrition and feeding, reproduction, and taxonomy and systematics. NOTE: Zoological Record is an essential database for taxonomy, systematics, and new species records. Zoological Record is the first database to search for wildlife, particularly rare and endangered species.
Search CAB Abstracts for managed fisheries and aquaculture literature. CAB Abstracts is also a core database for Veterinary Medicine.
ASFA is focused strictly on aquatic sciences and fisheries literature as indexed by FAO at a extensive international and gray literature level.
All life sciences subject databases will have taxonomic searching features available for searching by various taxa groups such as kingdoms or orders or families.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowPrimary database for wildlife researchers. The oldest continuing database of animal biology - designed to include all records of new species information and naming. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies.
[Coverage: 1864-Present] - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
UCD's most important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1971-present; varies by subfile,earlier for selected core titles]
