Clinical Point-of-Care Tools
This is a selected list of point-of-care practice resources available at UC Davis and UC Davis Health.
Apps are available for some of these resources -- go to Clinical Apps for installation instructions or check out the Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Pocket eCard for suggestions.
For questions, reach out to a health sciences librarian: bmlref@ucdavis.edu
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is a point-of-care clinical medicine database, providing coverage of over 8500 topics in 17 medical specialties. Integrates drug information (Lexi-Comp), clinical images (VisualDx) and medical calculators. Mobile app is available.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowIBM Micromedex is a comprehensive drug information resource that enables searching across a suite of drug information databases. Mobile apps are available.
- Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new windowEssential Evidence Plus is a clinical decision-making tool that provides point-of-care information for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals. Essential Evidence Topics provide best-evidence answers to clinical questions concerning symptoms, diseases, drugs, and other treatment regimens. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that grades its merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature.
POEMs (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) research summaries provide the most recent, relevant research to help clinicians stay current in their practice. Users may create personal accounts and sign up to receive POEMs via email. Essential Evidence Plus also includes decision support tools, diagnostic test calculators, history and physical exam calculators, abstracts from Cochrane Systemic Reviews with links to Cochrane Library, dermatological images, National Guidelines Clearinghouse practice guidelines, anatomy illustrations, and more.
As of 9/11/23: users will need to log in to their EE+ profile (or set one up if not done so already) to access Essential Evidence Plus.
Create a personal profile/account
Using Essential Evidence Plus and Adding EE+ to Your Mobile Device's Home Screen
- VisualDXVisualDx is a web-based clinical decision support system proven to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety and is based on images of the physical exam. It includes the Differential Builder, which provides a symptom-based approach to diagnosis.
- TRIP Database [Pro] This link opens in a new windowTRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database is a free clinical search engine with filters that enable clinicians to quickly find answers to clinical questions based on the best available evidence. The Library has licensed the professional version of TRIP with added features -- see Access VPN for off-campus access.
- GIDEON - Global Infectious Diseases & Epidemiology Network This link opens in a new windowInteractive decision support system for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy. Epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 25,000 outbreaks, 35,000 graphs, and 82,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.
- STAT!Ref Library This link opens in a new windowA library of selected health sciences online reference books and dictionaries, point-of care-tools (e.g., EBMcalc), and consumer health resources. Mobile app is available.
- Clinical Resources Center (CRC)
This link opens in a new window
Portal providing clinically related links for clinicians and students at UC Davis Health, including point of care tools, decision support, drug, and nutrition information, plus patient education materials.
Note: Off-campus access requires UCDH VPN. The first time you attempt to access the CRC from off-campus, you will be presented with a form to request access.
