Background Resources
Background resources provide an overview of a disease or condition, including what is generally known and accepted.
Core medical textbooks and review-type journal articles (otherwise known as "narrative reviews") are important background resources. Make sure to note the publication date for background resources -- knowledge of diseases, conditions and treatments changes frequently.
- PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a subject index from the National Library of Medicine which includes over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and e-books.
TIPS:
To find answers to general background questions, apply the "review" article type filter to PubMed results.
Although PubMed is freely available, access to many full-text articles is not.
Use the special PubMed link for UC Davis, which enables "Get it at UC" links to display in search results. - AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowAccessMedicine is one of several core medical reference e-book collections from McGraw-Hill relevant to health sciences professions graduate students, as well as practicing clinicians. Includes test preparation tools and audio-visual resources.
- OVID/LWW Health LibraryRelevant to health professions students (MD, MEPN, NP, PA), the OVID/LWW Health Library includes core online textbooks and collections that are licensed by the UC Davis Library.
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new windowFull-text reputable consumer health information compiled by the National Library of Medicine from authenticated sources including the various U.S. Government agencies involved with health care. Many free and reliable full-text sources are incorporated including drug information, dictionaries and directories.
- Health Sciences E-BooksThis guide offers a selected list of health sciences e-books available through UC Davis Library.
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.