Environmental Toxicology

2015 (Third Edition). Edited by Ernest Hodgson et al. This “compendium of definitions of all current toxicological terminology” is an “authoritative reference” illustrating and describing “words, concepts, acronyms and symbols for both the toxicological theory and applied risk assessment, as well as providing guidance on the correct selection of problematic, similar and frequently-misused terms.” All sections are peer-reviewed and updated with this 3rd edition. New to this edition is the “inclusion of all terminology and concepts relating to molecular toxicology, nanotoxicology and computational toxicology.”

2014 (Third edition). Edited by Philip Wexler. This 4-volume set "presents entries devoted to key concepts and specific chemicals, and is updated to reflect current advances in the field. It contains new information on nanotoxicology, epigenetics, persistent organic pollutants, computational toxicology and bioinformatics, controversial chemicals, and much more. Along with the traditional scientific entries, new articles focus on worldwide initiatives, the potential health and environmental effects of new technologies, and the societal implications of global legal and regulatory issues ... persistent organic pollutants, REACH, SAICM, e-waste ..."

2013
ncludes 104 chapters over two volumes. The Encyclopedia of Aquatic Ecotoxicology “reveals the diversity of issues, problems and challenges that have faced, and are facing today, receiving environments. It also indicates ways by which tools, strategies and future investigations can contribute to correct, minimize, solve and prevent water quality degradation.”Entries range from: Acid Rain Toxicity, Biomarkers of Ecological Relevance in Ecotoxicology, Estrogenic Endocrine-Disrupting Chemicals, Nanomaterials in the Environment, Polychaetes in Ecotoxicology, to Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Ecosystems.

2010 (Second Edition). Edited by Charlene A. McQueen et al. This 14-volume set covers all aspects of toxicology: Volume 1: General Principles; Volume 2: Cellular and Molecular Toxicology; Volume 3: Toxicology Testing and Evaluation; Volume 4: Biotransformation; Volume 5: Immune System Toxicology; Volume 6: Cardiovascular Toxicology; Volume 7: Renal Toxicology; Volume 8: Respiratory Toxicology; Volume 9: Hepatic Toxicology; Volume 10: Gastrointestinal Toxicology; Volume 11: Reproductive and Endocrine Toxicology; Volume 12: Developmental Toxicology; Volume 13: Nervous System and Behavioral Toxicology; and Volume 14: Carcinogenesis. Useful for “Toxicology researchers, academic and medical practitioners, food science researchers, environmental researchers and consultants, forensic scientists, and occupational health and safety institutes.”

Information on the hazards of working with a chemical and procedures that should be used to ensure safety, including federal and state law requirements. Includes University of California Office of the President standard operating procedures for research and/or teaching laboratories.

2004-present. Updated online. The primary source for those who need to evaluate the hazardous potential of substances used in commerce. Combines data on toxicological, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information on approximately 28,000 substances, including 2600 new entries. Also includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDLH) levels for approximately 1,000 chemicals. It also covers exposure-level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation. Especially important in areas of industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policy making.

2002 (Second edition). Edited by David J. Hoffman et al. This handbook "focuses on toxic substances and how they affect ecosystems worldwide. It presents methods for quantifying and measuring ecotoxicological effects in the field and in the lab, as well as methods for estimating, predicting, and modeling in ecotoxicology studies. Completely revised and updated with 18 new chapters, this second edition includes contributions from over 75 international experts." Contents include "Section I: Quantifying and Measuring Ecotoxicological Effects; Section II: Contaminant Sources and Effects; Section III: Case Histories and Ecosystem Surveys; Section IV: Methods for Making Estimates, Predictability, and Risk Assessment in Ecotoxicology; Section V: Special Issues in Ecotoxicology".

2010 (Third edition) Edited by Robert Krieger (UC Riverside) et al. A "comprehensive, two-volume reference guide to the properties, effects, and regulation of pesticides that provides the latest and most complete information to researchers investigating the environmental, agricultural, veterinary, and human-health impacts of pesticide use. Written by international experts from academia, government, and the private sector, the Handbook of Pesticide Toxicology is an in-depth examination of critical issues related to the need for, use of, and nature of chemicals used in modern pest management." Key features include:
* comprehensive look at all aspects of pesticide toxicology in one reference work.
* Clear exposition of hazard identification and dose response relationships in each chapter featuring pesticide agents and actions
* All major classes of pesticide considered
* Different routes of exposure critically evaluated

2015. Edited by Gunnar F. Nordberg et al. Comprehensive 2-volume set on ” basic toxicological data, emphasizing toxic effects primarily in humans, but also those of animals and biological systems in vitro.” The 4th edition also “contains several new chapters on important topics such as nanotoxicology, metals in prosthetics and dental implants, gene-environment interaction, neurotoxicology, metals in food, renal, cardiovascular, and diabetes effects of metal exposures …”

Includes material safety data sheets, guides to chemical safety, toxicology information, environmental sources, and laws and regulations. A WikiBook.