Key Resources for Environmental Toxicology
Environmental toxicology (ETOX) is the study of toxic properties of chemicals (natural and man made) and their effects on humans and other species and their movement and fate in the environment. This guide provides links to key information resources and a variety of content including articles, data, e-books, as well as encyclopedias and handbooks.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating environmental toxicology literature.
PLEASE NOTE: Comprehensive literature searching in Environmental Toxicology requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since ETOX is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Formerly titled the Environmental Science & Pollution Management database, this is an essential database for literature on toxic pollutants. This database covers environmental science topics from disciplines such as atmospheric science, biology, biotechnology, ecology, engineering, and microbiology. It also covers agricultural research including agricultural economics, animal and veterinary sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, food and human nutrition, forestry, and plant sciences. It includes Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and Digests and all the records from the National Agricultural Library's AGRICOLA database.
[Coverage: 1960-present] - BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
