Research Guides: Environmental Toxicology: Government Publication Collections

Government Publication Collections

Government publications are essential to environmental toxicology research whether at an international, national/federal, state or local organizational or agency level. Major U.S. government organizations that publish ETOX-related materials include: the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR); CDC; EPA; FDA; National Center for Environmental Health; National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH); National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS); and many more.

National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
Government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to digitized reports published by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), Department of Commerce. Search more than 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports.
[Coverage: 1964-present]
EPA National Service Center for Environmental Publications This link opens in a new window
The National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) provides access to thousands of popular EPA documents. For additional EPA resources, see the EPA National Library Catalog.
Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS) (EPA) This link opens in a new window
IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System) is a compilation of electronic reports on specific substances found in the environment and their potential to cause human health effects. IRIS was initially developed for EPA staff in response to a growing demand for consistent information on substances for use in risk assessments, decision-making and regulatory activities. The information in IRIS is intended for those without extensive training in toxicology, but with some knowledge of health sciences.

Toxicological Profile Series | ATSDR (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry)c
The ATSDR (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry) has been publishing this Toxicological profiles Series since 1989.
ECOTOX (ECOTOXicology)
1972- present. Provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life which is useful for examining impacts of chemicals on the environment. Peer-reviewed literature is the primary source for the database including information on the species, chemical, test methods, and results. Another source of test results is independently compiled data files (such as the Pesticide Ecotoxicity database) provided by various United States and International government agencies. ECOTOX is a unified interface providing access to three U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) ecological effects databases: AQUIRE (all aquatic species including freshwater and marine); TERRETOX (terrestrial animal mainly wildlife); and PHYTOTOX (terrestrial plant).

Consumer Product Information Database (CPID) This link opens in a new window
The Consumer Product Information Database (CPID) provides information on chemical ingredients of over 26,000 household products. Information available typically includes: label Information, including brand name, and warnings; manufacturers, including address and contact phone numbers; ingredients, Health Effects, Storage and Disposal Information from manufacturer’s material safety data sheets; as well as properties and health studies for the chemical ingredients of brands.

Environmental Toxicology

Government Publication Collections

Research Support

Undergraduates and their instructors should contact:

Grad students, post-docs, faculty and researchers should contact: