Data and Statistics
The resources below provide energy related datasets and statistics in California. They are in order of specificity to energy topics.
- California Energy CommissionCalifornia's energy policy and planning agency provides policy and program information, reports, datasets, maps, and more. Resources are largely focused on clean energy, given the state's 100% clean energy goal.
- California Energy Data and Reporting System (CEDARS)CPUC provides data reported from utility companies, Regional Energy Networks, and Community Choice Aggregators on a yearly, quarterly, or monthly basis.
- California Distributed Generation StatisticsCalifornia Distributed Generation Statistics is the official public reporting site of the California Solar Initiative (CSI), presented jointly by the CSI Program Administrators, GRID Alternatives, the California Investor Owned Utilities, and the California Public Utilities Commission.
- PG&EPG&E services cover most of central and northern California. Researchers can request energy data from PG&E. There are also a number of public datasets available through pge.com, such as Distributed Resource Planning data and maps, and a Hydrologic Region Map Tool.
- Southern California Edison DRPEP ToolSCE services cover most of southern California. The Distributed Resource Plan External Portal (DRPEP) provides Distributed Resource Plan data and an interactive map.
- CalEnviroScreenMapping tool that helps identify California communities affected by pollution. Uses environmental, health, and socioeconomic information to produce scores for every census tract in the state.
- California Open DataIncludes links to numeric and geographic data covering a variety of topics including demography, health statistics, state contracts, traffic records. Statistics and data sets are available from state agencies and links are provided to other data sources - local, federal and other sources.
The resources below provide energy related datasets and statistics in the United States. They are in order of specificity to energy topics.
- U.S. Energy Information AdministrationProvides energy industry information in the form of reports, web products, press releases, datasets, API, and maps. Data encompasses domestic and international energy information.
- DOE Data ExplorerDOE Data Explorer (DDE) is the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) search tool for finding DOE-funded, publicly available, scientific data records submitted by data centers, repositories, and other organizations funded by the Department of Energy.
- DOE CODEDOE CODE is the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) software services platform and search tool for DOE-funded code. DOE CODE allows users to search and discover bibliographic metadata for scientific and business software resulting from DOE-funded projects and details on how to access the software.
- OpenEIOpenEI is a data sharing platform with an emphasis on renewable energy and energy efficiency. Users can view, edit, and add energy data.
- NREL Data CatalogThe National Renewable Energy Laboratory provides public data from its federally funded research. Research and datasets cover topics related to clean energy and energy efficiency technologies and practices.
- EPA EJScreenEJScreen provides an interactive map and datasets from the EPA on multiple environmental and socioeconomic indicators such as ozone, air quality, wastewater discharge, health disparities, wildfire risk, transportation access, and more.
- Sage Data (Formerly Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from over 90 governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Data Planet allows you to search and browse billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Each dataset also has a detailed description, including information about its source organization and update frequency. DataPlanet platform provides durable web links and DOIs to make it easier to revisit datasets. Datasets cover: agriculture and food; banking, finance, and insurance; criminal justice and law enforcement; education; energy resources and industries; government and politics; health and vital statistics; housing and construction; industry, business, and commerce; international relations and trade; labor and employment; military and defense; natural resources and environment; population and income; prices, consumption, and cost of living; and transportation and traffic. In August 2021, the databases formerly known as Sage Stats and U.S. Political Stats became DataPlanet.
[Coverage: 19th century – present, most datasets are from the past few decades]
The resources below provide energy related datasets and statistics internationally, beginning globally and followed by region-specific resources.
- International Energy AgencyAn international group committed to sustainable energy with sections on policies and data and more.
- World Resource Institute Data LabWRI’s suite of open data platforms enable users to advance modern energy, monitor forest change in near-real time, track the drivers of climate change, analyze water risks around the world, examine the cross-section of global environmental issues and more.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation working on establishing evidence-based international standards and finding solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges. They provide a forum and knowledge hub for data and analysis, exchange of experiences, best-practice sharing, and advice on public policies and international standard-setting in areas such as innovation and technology, economy, agriculture, development, environment, energy, and more.
- International Renewable Energy AgencyThe International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) is a global intergovernmental agency for energy transformation. IRENA’s membership comprises 167 countries and the EU. The website provides news, publications, education, and data.
- Global Registry of Fossil FuelsThe Global Registry is an open-source database of oil, gas and coal production and reserves globally, expressed in CO2-equivalent, from 139 fossil fuel producing countries.
- U.N. Statistics DivisionUnited Nations compiled global statistical information in topics such as environment, economy, development indicators, and population.
- Sage Data (Formerly Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from over 90 governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Data Planet allows you to search and browse billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Each dataset also has a detailed description, including information about its source organization and update frequency. DataPlanet platform provides durable web links and DOIs to make it easier to revisit datasets. Datasets cover: agriculture and food; banking, finance, and insurance; criminal justice and law enforcement; education; energy resources and industries; government and politics; health and vital statistics; housing and construction; industry, business, and commerce; international relations and trade; labor and employment; military and defense; natural resources and environment; population and income; prices, consumption, and cost of living; and transportation and traffic. In August 2021, the databases formerly known as Sage Stats and U.S. Political Stats became DataPlanet.
[Coverage: 19th century – present, most datasets are from the past few decades]
- African Energy Commission (AFREC)The African Energy Commission (AFREC) is a continental specialised energy agency of the African Union (AU), under the Commission for Infrastructure and Energy. The website contains a database with energy data from all 55 member states.
- ASEAN Energy Database SystemAEDS contains official ASEAN statistic data and related energy news and policies to help you understand the energy landscape of ASEAN and each of its Member States.
- CEPALSTATCEPALSTAT is the gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized, calculated and published by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Data include demographic, economic, and environmental factors.
- Eurostat This link opens in a new windowEurostat is the statistical agency for the European Union. The site provides access to data (monthly, quarterly, and annual data) from 1960 onwards. Topics include: general statistics, regional statistics, economy and finance, agriculture and fisheries, environment and energy, population and social conditions, services and transport and intra- extra- EU trade statistics. Coverage is Europe.
- SAARC Energy Centre Data PortalThe SAARC Energy Data Portal aims to provide timely and complete energy statistics for providing sound energy policies and designing strategic development and investment plans in energy sector in South Asia.