Books and E-Books
Books and E-books can be found by searching the Library catalog (UC Library Search).
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and the ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.
Locate books in person:
Library of Congress Classification
CLASS H - SOCIAL SCIENCES
- HC subclass: Economic history and conditions
- HC79: Special topics, including air pollution, famines, etc.
- HD subclass: Industries. Land use. Labor
- HD9502-9502.5: Energy industry, energy policy, fuel trade.
CLASS T - TECHNOLOGY
- TC subclass: Hydraulic engineering
- TD subclass: Environmental technology
- TJ subclass: Mechanical engineering and machinery
- TK subclass: Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering.
- TP subclass: Chemical technology
- Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
More subject-related books and e-books can be found on the Related Subject Guides page.
Access eBooks online via the databases:
- ScienceDirect eBooksThousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. [NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible]
- Taylor & Francis eBook CollectionAcademic, science, technology and medical e-Book content from Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, and Garland. Former CRCnetBASE collections are incorporated in this collection including: BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE and CHEMnetBASE.
- Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. [Coverage: 2005-2022].
- Ebook Central Ebooks (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Thousands of ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
[Coverage varies: 1970s-current] - Ebook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThousands of scholarly, reference, and professional full text books covering a broad range of disciplines. Includes titles from academic, university presses and commercial publishers. Scholarly societies, including health sciences host titles, including American Academy of Ophthalmology, on this platform. Individual titles on the Ebook Collection platform can also be found in the library catalog. Some books limited to single user per given borrowing period. To use the Full Download/Checkout functionality for an eBook, a user must create a free individual user account. Some titles can be downloaded and viewed with a DRM reader. May place a hold on a book. Print or copy up to 100 pages per book and user session depending on publisher restrictions.
[Coverage varies: 1950s-current]
