Resources in English
On This Page:
Bibliographic Indexes; Newspapers and Magazines (FullText); More Full-Text Resources.
Bibliographic Indexes
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies contains more than 800,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide beginning in 1971 to present.
[Coverage: 1971-present, depending upon the subfile] - Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies provides an authoritative guide to the key works across the whole field, pointing researchers and practitioners at all levels to the most important scholarship in European languages as well as in Chinese (and Japanese), and giving scholars working in other fields easier access to scholarship on China.” - Bibliography of Japanese History to 1912 This link opens in a new windowA completely revised bibliography of Japanese history to the end of the Meiji period, by Peter Kornicki. The original appeared in 1996 (UC-Davis has this copy at H/SS Reference, call no. DS835 K67 1996.) The bibliography is arranged by period and also by topics such as foreign relations 1800-1900 and Meiji economic, intellectual, social, and military history.
Full text Newspapers and Magazines
- South China Morning Post - Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThe historical archive of Hong Kong's most well-known English-language newspaper provides researchers with online, easily-searchable coverage of politics, society and events in the territory.
1958-2001 - Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832-1953) - Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowEnglish-language Chinese historical newspapers provides valuable insight into political and social life of China during this turbulent 120-year period in modern Chinese history. Advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads are also included in the resource.
Coverage: 1832 - 1953
Titles: - The Korea Times (Seoul, 1956-2016) - Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.
- The Oriental Economist Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Oriental Economist Digital Archive is an online version of the print journal Oriental Economist originally published monthly between 1934 and 1985 and weekly between January 1946 and August 1952 in Japan (in 874 volumes in 44,000 pages). It is one of the very few commercial journals in English with a focus on the Asian economy that lasted over 50 years from the pre-war period. While the Oriental Economist included some translations of articles published in the Japanese journal Tōyō Keizai Shinpō (1895-1960) /Shūkan Tōyō Keizai (1960-present), it also published its original contents. NOTE: There is a limit of 4 simultaneous users systemwide on the JapanKnowledge Platform (for all their resources). Please try later if you can’t get in immediately.
[Coverage: 1934-1985] - China and the Modern World This link opens in a new windowChina and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals, 1817–1949 is a collection of seventeen English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years extending from 1817 until 1949, when the People’s Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949).
[Coverage: 1817–1949]
More Full-Text Resources
- National Population Census of China (NPCC) This link opens in a new window2010 Census Data (partial collection), aka the Sixth National Population Census of China
2020 Census Data (full collection), aka the Seventh National Population Census of China - Visual History Archive of the USC Shoah Foundation (VHA) This link opens in a new windowInitially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence.