East Asian Studies, Languages and Cultures

This is a full-text Chinese academic journal database for Chinese Studies researchers. The UC system subscribes the series in the Literature/History/Philosophy, Economics/Politics/Law, and Education/Social Sciences. The database includes current issues, plus total of 1207 titles from the Century Journal Project (covers the years of 1915-1993.)
[Coverage: 1915-present]

COJ is a comprehensive database in the area of social sciences, arts, humanities, business and economics. The sub-databases include China Academic Conference Proceedings (Arts/Humanities/Social Sciences), China Online Journals (Arts/Humanities/Social Sciences), Chinese Companies and Products, Dissertations of China(Arts/Humanities/Social Sciences), and Policies and Laws of China. The integrated cross-database search platform includes digital resources in PDF and HTML formats. All databases are updated frequently.
[Coverage: 1986-]

CDMD is a database of dissertations and theses from China, representing nearly 500 PhD-granting institutions and over 775 masters-granting institutions, including the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, and the Chinese Academy of Agriculture, among others. The theses and dissertations are available in Chinese, with an interface in English.

An open-access collection of nearly 600 Chinese journals in the social sciences.  It is free, but you must register to use.

This database provides full-text access to a large collection of current core Chinese language journals in the humanities and social sciences.
[Coverage: 1995-present]

TEPS offers full text articles of periodicals published in Taiwan. The subject includes humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social sciences.

A search platform, combining the academic resources of both Taiwan and mainland China, features full-text searchable content covering academic journal articles, doctoral dissertations, and conference paper compilations, to provide high-quality and convenient Chinese knowledge service.

CITATIONS ONLY: NICNP is provided by Shanghai Wenda Information Co., Ltd., based in Shanghai, China. The database provides internet access to titles, authors, and abstracts of newspaper/journal articles published between 1833 to 1979 in China. NICNP covers various subject areas in social sciences and humanities, such as religion, literature, culture, art, politics, economics, and history.

This collection provides full-text content of the press of more than twenty cities spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. Open Access to this collection is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.

UDNDATA is a newspaper database of the United Daily News Group, the largest news group in Taiwan. UDNDATA covers seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan, Europe and North America: Lian He Bao 聯合報, Jing Ji Ri Bao 經濟日報, Min Sheng Bao 民生報, Lian He Wan Bao 聯合晚報, Xing Bao 星報 in Taiwan, Ouzhou Ri Bao 歐洲日報 in Europe and Meizhou Shi Jie Ri bao 美洲世界日報 in North America. The online database provides current and searchable full-text articles, as well as searchable images, published on the above seven newspapers. It is not only a major information source in Taiwan, but also an important information sources on overseas Chinese in Europe and North America.

The "People's Daily" is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. This database provides complete official records of the Chinese government from 1946-2005.
[Coverage: 1946-2005]

The ShunBao (Shen Bao)database is composed of the digitized issues of the Shanghai, China newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. Considered by many to be the longest lasting and most influential newspaper in modern China, the publication covered the major political and social developments for over half a century. The full name of the newspaper was Shenjiang Xinbao (translated as Shenjiang New Post, also known in English as the Shanghai News). Content has not been translated or transliterated from the Chinese script.
[Coverage: 1872-1949]

The “Siku Quan Shu= Complete Library in Four Branches” was compiled during the years 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong. The database includes 3460 works, with a total of more then 36,000 volumes including history, astronomy, geography, rules and regulations, politics, economics, society, science and technology, and philosophy.

[Coverage: 878 BC-1600]

To access, select “Ancient Classics” and then click the log in button (no username or password). The library subscribes to the products with red text. Click the red image above “四庫系列數據庫” to enter this database.

This is a large full-text collection of classics pertaining to Chinese history. Use the 授權使用 button to access the full (licensed) collection. The creators of this database describe it as a project “to digitize all documents essential to research in traditional Sinology”

Traces 5000 years of Chinese civilization from its early origins to the Qing Dynasty. Edited by Chen Meng-lei, a scholar of the Qing Dynasty. Based on the authoritative 64 volume edition from 1934 with original text, illustrations and punctuation. The collection includes works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine and more.
[Coverage: From ancient China through the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911)]

This is the largest single database on Taiwanese history in the Chinese language, including abstracts and indexing from thousand of books. The database contains 595 books divided into 309 categories. This collection incorporates local histories, official documents of Ming, Qin and Nan-Ming Dynasties, poetry, and private collections. It covers multiple dimensions of study, including geography, local customs, politics, economics, sociology, laws and culture. Based on the Taiwan Literature Series and edited by Chou Hsien-wen. It is also useful to the research on history of China's international trades and relations.
[Coverage: From Tang Dynasty (618-907) through the Japanese occupation period (1895-1945.)]

A collection of 4,000 Chinese local gazetteers and other records published from the Song Dynasty to the Republic Era.
How to E:  Leave username and password boxes blank on the linked page and click the login button directly below those boxes. Then click the blue box directly above the name of this database to access it. PLEASE NOTE: Be sure to log out when you are done so that others may access this resource.  The license restricts the number of simultaneous users.

An extensive database of pre-20th Century texts in several subject areas.  Materials date from the Zhou Dynasty to the Republican period.

HOW TO ACCESS THIS DATABASE:  Leave username and password boxes blank on the linked page and click the login button directly below those boxes. Then click the gold box directly above the name of this database (in red characters) to access it.

PLEASE NOTE: Be sure to log out when you are done so that others may access this resource.  The license restricts the number of simultaneous users.

This is the largest single database on Taiwanese history in the Chinese language, including abstracts and indexing from thousand of books. The database contains 595 books divided into 309 categories. This collection incorporates local histories, official documents of Ming, Qin and Nan-Ming Dynasties, poetry, and private collections. It covers multiple dimensions of study, including geography, local customs, politics, economics, sociology, laws and culture. Based on the Taiwan Literature Series and edited by Chou Hsien-wen. It is also useful to the research on history of China's international trades and relations.
[Coverage: From Tang Dynasty (618-907) through the Japanese occupation period (1895-1945.)]

This collection of Chinese language journals contains more than 7,000 journal titles and 130,000 issues published in China from the late Qing Dynasty to 1949. Subject content includes, but is not limited to, philosophy, economics, politics, military, literature, history, industry, agriculture, geography and medicine.
[Coverage: Late Qing Dynasty-1949]

Collection of oral history on the historical events from Late Qing to 1980s, recorded since 1959 by members of the People’s Consultative Conferences and personalities across China. The first phase of the database includes nearly 20,000 series, more than 500,000 articles; the second phase includes nearly 6,800 series, more than 400,000 articles. The principle of guiding the publishing of the historical materials was “Three in-person”: experienced in person, saw in person, and heard in person (亲历, 亲见,亲闻). All articles were written by people who experienced the events or knew the persons in their articles. Many of authors have passed away, preserved these invaluable records for the future generations and scholars.
[Coverage: 1900s]

A full-text collection of diverse publications established by or pertaining to the Chinese Communist Party prior to 1949.

Images and texts presenting themed exhibits from the National Palace Museum collection.

Approximately 5,000 images of selected objects in the National Palace Museum Collection viewable on the Luna commons platform.