Safety Data
- Safety Data Sheets [via UC Davis Safety Services]Information on the hazards of working with a chemical and procedures that should be used to ensure safety, including federal and state law requirements. Includes University of California Office of the President standard operating procedures for research and/or teaching laboratories.
- Chemical Safety LibraryThe Pistoia Alliance Chemical Safety Library (CSL) provides unique crowd sourced data content containing hazardous reactions that can be used to alert scientists to potential dangerous experiments. CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society, is committed to increasing safety in the lab and has provided this open access platform to serve scientists worldwide. Search by CAS Registry Number, CSL Number, Chemical Name, SMILES, InChi, InChi Key, or MCFD Numbers.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowMicromedex enables searching across a suite of drug information databases, covering drug administration, adverse effects, clinical applications, contraindications, dosage, indications, interactions, over-dosage, pharmacology, precautions, product/substance identification, toxicity, references, synonyms, and uses. Databases include: NeoFax, Physicians Desk Reference (PDR), Martindale International drug information - including investigational and herbal drugs, POISINDEX, and DRUGDEX (Consults and Evaluations), P&T Quik Reports, MSDS from USP, REPRORISK, DESEASEDEX (General and Emergency), Alternative Medicines, TOMES, RED BOOK (wholesale drug prices), and calculators. Four mobile apps are available: Micromedex Drug Ref, Micromedex Drug Int, Micromedex IV Comp, and Micromedex NeoFax. Micromedex is a product of Merative, formerly IBM Watson Health.
- Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials [via Wiley Online Library]2004-present. Updated online. The primary source for those who need to evaluate the hazardous potential of substances used in commerce. Combines data on toxicological, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information on approximately 28,000 substances, including 2600 new entries. Also includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDLH) levels for approximately 1,000 chemicals. It also covers exposure-level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation. Especially important in areas of industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policy making.
- Chemical Information Sources/ SIRCh/Chemical Safety Searches & Toxicology SearchesIncludes material safety data sheets, guides to chemical safety, toxicology information, environmental sources, and laws and regulations. A WikiBook.
- Millipore Sigma (Was Sigma Aldrich)Use search box in top left to search for product name and find the product number. Then search for the SDS in the bottom left box by the product number. Freely available, no log is necessary.
- ACS Essentials of Lab Safety for General ChemistryAmerican Chemical Society created this “90-minute online course that provides students with the vital concepts of chemical safety and prepares them for their first experiment in the general chemistry lab. Developed by leading experts, the six interactive learning modules in ACS Essentials of Lab Safety for General Chemistry introduce the RAMP framework, a commonly used laboratory risk assessment method, and walk students through the four principles of RAMP—Recognize hazards, Assess risks, Minimize risks, and Prepare for emergencies. Critical instruction is brought to life through narrated presentations with real-life photos and videos, and the course is completed with a capstone exercise to assess understanding of foundational lab safety protocols.“
- ACS Case Studies in Research Lab SafetyAmerican Chemical Society created this “90-minute course that guides students and faculty through five real-world lab safety incident case studies. Based on the RAMP model, this course teaches fundamental risk assessment skills that are universally applicable to all research environments throughout their academic career and into industry. Each case study leads students through the exploration of a real-world research laboratory incident with questions that prompt them to reflect on how and why incidents happen. This process helps students reason through decisions at various levels and identify ways to assess risks and minimize hazards, even when performing common tasks in the lab.”
ToxNet (Toxicology Data Network)
Federated searching for toxicology data through ToxNet is no longer available. Most individual databases formerly available within ToxNet are still available, see links and instructions below.
- HSDB (Hazardous Substances Databank)Toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. Includes peer-reviewed, published data on: human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, and related areas. All data are referenced and derived from a core set of books, government documents, technical reports and selected primary journal literature; and are peer-reviewed by the Scientific Review Panel (SRP), a committee of experts in the major subject areas within the data bank’s scope. HSDB is organized into individual chemical records, and contains over 5000 such records.
HOW TO SEARCH:
Best Option: Search for substance(s) of interest in ChemIDplus (https://chem.nlm.nih.gov/chemidplus/chemidlite.jsp)
If you get multiple hits: click on appropriate substance
Scroll down, under LINKS TO RESOURCES
Click on HSDB - ChemIDplusStructure and nomenclature for chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases.
Basic: Search by: name, registry number, formula.
Advanced: Search by: toxicity, physical properties, structure, molecular weight, locator code. (https://chem.nlm.nih.gov/chemidplus/) - TOXLINE in PubMed: Direct search linkCitations to the toxicological literature. Includes: technical reports and research projects.
Other ToxNet transitions at: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/techbull/nd19/nd19_toxnet_new_locations.html