Properties
Basic Resources for Properties
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collection of searchable major chemical reference works, including: CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds, and Combined Chemical Dictionary. - Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals This link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index contains over 11,000 entries (referred to as monographs) mostly for single substances and related compounds (isomers, salts, etc.). Some families of natural products and biological substances are included as well. Data provided include: chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity; and information on therapeutic and non-medicinal uses. The Merck Index Online also includes sections on: organic name reactions, and additional tables. The Merck Index can be searched by structure with installation of a free ChemDraw plug-in available on the structure search page.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics2022-2023 (103rd ed.) The CRC handbook that started it all - over 100 years old and the most important data handbook for major areas of Chemistry and Physics.
- Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD)Combined search interface to five comprehensive CRC dictionaries.
1) Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds (included in CCD)
2) Dictionary of Drugs (formerly Pharmasource, included in CCD)
3) Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds (included in CCD)
4) Dictionary of Natural Products (included in CCD)
5) Dictionary of Organic Compounds (included in CCD) - Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry (via AccessEngineering)2017 (17th ed.) James G. Speight, ed. “The Go-To Reference for Chemists for More Than 70 Years - Completely Updated to Include Today's Essential Topics. Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition is written to provide a reliable one-stop source of factual information for today's working chemist. Within its pages, you will find an unmatched compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings that span every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated Seventeenth Edition are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. The Seventeenth Edition is enhanced by the addition of an all-new section on Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources. This timely new content includes descriptions of coal, crude oil, natural gas, tar sand and tar sand bitumen, oil shale, biomass and biofuels, and minerals. Sections include:- Inorganic Chemistry- Organic Chemistry- Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources- Spectroscopy - General Information and Conversion Tables.”
- Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook (via Access Engineering)2019 (9th ed.) Don W. Green, ed. et al. “ The gold standard for chemical engineering information--from the fundamentals to the state of the art. This industry-standard resource, first published in 1934, has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, is indispensable for unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. New features include coverage of bioreactions and bioprocessing, a practical presentation of thermodynamics fundamentals, and new and updated chemical property data. A must-have for students and professionals in every stage of their careers, Perry's provides all the technical details you'll need in a well-organized format: You'll find comprehensive material on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more."
Databases for Properties
- REAXYS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
REAXYS provides property, structure and reaction data for millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions. Up to hundreds of fields of chemical and physical property information are available. Reaxys combines the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database. It is searchable by text keywords, numerical physical and chemical properties, and by chemical structures and substructures.
[Coverage: 1772 - present]
Coverage:
1772 – present Chemical substances
1976 – present Chemical patents
1980 – present Organic chemistry journal articles
1995 – present Inorganic chemistry journal articles
Help:
Reaxys Academy: Learn How to Search Reaxys
Additional REAXYS Training materials
- SciFindern (SciFinder-n) [Registration Required] This link opens in a new windowYou must (register for a SciFinder account) before you can use the database (login to VPN to access registration page from off-campus).
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 52 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1907-present, with selected pre-1907 material]
[Cited Reference Searching: 1996 - present, allows you to identify who is citing an article]
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
- Cambridge Structural Database (part of WebCSD)UC Davis site license funded by the Chemistry Department. This service now includes the ability to search for inorganic structures through the CCDC’s and FIZ Karlsruhe’s joint Access Service using the Simple Search tab. The web version of Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) provides crystallographic, chemical and bibliographic information for more than 544,000 organic and organometallic compounds whose 3D structures have been determined by x-ray or neutron diffraction (nearly 600,000 structures).
- NIST Chemistry WebBookProvides thermochemical data for over 6500 organic and small inorganic compounds. Data available may include: gas phase and condensed phase thermochemistry data, reaction thermochemistry data, phase change data, spectra (IR, Mass, UV), Henry’s Law data, gas phase ion energetics data, ion clustering data, vibrational and/or electronic energy levels, gas phase kinetics, and thermophysical properties of fluid systems.
- MatWeb: Material Property Data“Data sheets for over 155,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites. … MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.“
More Resources for Properties
- Physical Reference Data (NIST Physics Lab)Another source from the National Insititute of Standards and Technology. Categories include Physical Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors, Atomic Spectroscopic Data, Molecular Spectroscopic Data, and X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Data.
- Smithsonian Physical Tables (Knovel)1954 (9th Revised edition.) William Elmer Forsythe. Common physical and chemical data. Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press in 1954, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of common physical and chemical data. The information provided is broad in scope. It is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. In 2003, Knovel undertook the conversion of this publication into full-text searchable electronic format that makes data easily accessible.
- NIST-JANAF Thermochemical Tables1998. (4th ed.) Searchable database provided by NIST - National Institute of Standards and Technology.
If you can’t find the property you are looking for, try using:
- Thermodex: Index of Selected Thermodynamic and Physical Property ResourcesIdentify the type of compound and properties you are looking for, and ThermoDex will return a list of handbooks that may contain these data. This resource was developed for use at the University of Texas, Austin, links are provided to identify library holdings in your area – or use the Library Catalog to look for the handbooks identified.
With many thanks to the University of Texas Libraries.
How to Access SpringerMaterials via LANDOLT-BÖRNSTEIN:
Landolt-Bornstein // Springer-Materials
The Library does not have a license for SpringerMaterials.
We do have online access to the predecessor to SpringerMaterials, Landolt-Börnstein for 2009 and earlier. The original Landolt-Börnstein series groupings:
- Landolt-Börnstein – Group I Elementary Particles, Nuclei and Atoms
- Landolt-Börnstein – Group II Molecules and Radicals
- Landolt-Börnstein – Group III Condensed Matter
- Landolt-Börnstein – Group IV Physical Chemistry
- Landolt-Börnstein – Group V Geophysics
- Landolt-Börnstein – Group VI Astronomy and Astrophysics
- Landolt-Börnstein – Group VII Biophysics
- Landolt-Börnstein – Group VIII Advanced Materials and Technologies
In most cases, you can access the 2009 and earlier information in our online volumes of Landolt-Börnstein. For the more recent content added to SpringerMaterials, you’ll need to refer to one or more of the alternate sources listed below.
Each record in SpringerMaterials has a source. If the source of the document you need is Landolt-Börnstein and from 2009 or earlier, you can get the PDF through Portico under the left Books filter. From SpringerMaterials, note the title of the document and volume in Landolt. Browse the alphabetical list of volumes in Portico, then that volume’s table of contents to find your document PDF. Here’s a handout (PDF) with some screenshots from both databases. At present, the volumes are listed alphabetically by their English titles, but eventually will be grouped into subject sections for easier browsing.
Some of the volumes in Portico are alphabetized by their subtitle. For example:
Crystal Structure Data of Inorganic Compounds · Key Element: O Part 2 shows up in the volume list as
Key Element: O Part 2
Crystal Structures of Inorganic Compounds · Structure Types Part 1: Space Groups (230) Ia-3d -(219)-F43-c shows up as
Structure Types Part 1: Space Groups (230) Ia-3d -(219)-F43-c
Phase Equilibria, Crystallographic and Thermodynamic Data of Binary Alloys · Ac-Ag … Au-Zr shows up as
Ac-Ag … Au-Zr
Why we don’t have Springer Materials
More Information on Landolt-Börnstein
Landolt-Börnstein is a vast and systematic collection of physical and chemcal properties of materials. The verified physical data available reflect numerical data and functional relationships in physics, physical chemistry, biophysics, geophysics, astronomy, materials science, and technology. Earlier volumes (to the 1980’s) are in German.
Thanks to Teri Vogel (UCSD) and Chuck Huber (UCSB): text on their pages used above
Alternative databases for locating crystallographic information if you find something in SpringerMaterials
Use Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD) or SciFinder and REAXYS (any articles referenced in SpringerMaterials will also be indexed in SciFinder, and possibly Reaxys).
- ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database) This link opens in a new windowCollection of crystal structure data of inorganic compounds recorded in the literature of the field from 1913-present.
[Coverage: 1913-present] - SciFindern (SciFinder-n) [Registration Required] This link opens in a new windowYou must (register for a SciFinder account) before you can use the database (login to VPN to access registration page from off-campus).
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 52 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1907-present, with selected pre-1907 material]
[Cited Reference Searching: 1996 - present, allows you to identify who is citing an article]
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
- REAXYS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
REAXYS provides property, structure and reaction data for millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions. Up to hundreds of fields of chemical and physical property information are available. Reaxys combines the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database. It is searchable by text keywords, numerical physical and chemical properties, and by chemical structures and substructures.
[Coverage: 1772 - present]
Coverage:
1772 – present Chemical substances
1976 – present Chemical patents
1980 – present Organic chemistry journal articles
1995 – present Inorganic chemistry journal articles
Help:
Reaxys Academy: Learn How to Search Reaxys
Additional REAXYS Training materials