Getting Started: Key Resources for Chemistry
This Chemistry guide provides links to key information resources and a variety of content including articles, data (properties, crystallography), e-books, as well as encyclopedias and handbooks. Chemical literature areas covered cross the five major disciplinary areas of chemistry: organic chemistry, biochemistry, inorganic chemistry, analytical chemistry, and physical chemistry.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating chemistry literature.
- SciFinder [Registration Required] This link opens in a new windowYou must register for a SciFinder account before you can use the database. SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 52 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. It has more than 27 million records in all life science areas, including biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine, and pharmacology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents. [Coverage: 1926-present]
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collection of searchable major chemical reference works, including: CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds, and Combined Chemical Dictionary. - REAXYS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
REAXYS provides property, structure and reaction data for millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions. Up to hundreds of fields of chemical and physical property information are available. Reaxys combines the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database. It is searchable by text keywords, numerical physical and chemical properties, and by chemical structures and substructures.
[Coverage: 1772 - present]
Coverage:
1772 – present Chemical substances
1976 – present Chemical patents
1980 – present Organic chemistry journal articles
1995 – present Inorganic chemistry journal articles
Help:
Reaxys Academy: Learn How to Search Reaxys
Additional REAXYS Training materials
