Chemistry

2020 (8th ed.) “A Dictionary of Chemistry, covering all aspects of chemistry and related topics, such as physical chemistry and biochemistry, including recent developments in the field. It is supplemented by graphs, diagrams, and detailed appendices as well as useful web links which are accessible via the companion website.”

2016 (16th ed.) This classic work contains "1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks. Has a
significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology. Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions. Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes. Includes an update on toxicological profiles."

2005-2022. IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) - based on the “Gold Book”.

2015 (Third Edition). Edited by Ernest Hodgson et al. This “compendium of definitions of all current toxicological terminology” is an “authoritative reference” illustrating and describing “words, concepts, acronyms and symbols for both the toxicological theory and applied risk assessment, as well as providing guidance on the correct selection of problematic, similar and frequently-misused terms.” All sections are peer-reviewed and updated with this 3rd edition. New to this edition is the “inclusion of all terminology and concepts relating to molecular toxicology, nanotoxicology and computational toxicology.”

Online encyclopedia focused on chemical engineering, excellent resource for topics involving manufactured items, materials, or processes used in manufacturing.

Topics covered include: Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection and Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources.

Provides excellent overviews on materials used in manufacturing (ionic liquids, amino acids, silylating agents), or processes used in manufacturing (e.g., fermentation, chromatography, dyeing) as well as manufactured items.

Major sections cover: Agrochemicals; Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection, Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources.

"e-EROS gives detailed information on more than 5,250 reagents and catalysts, and every year up to 200 new or updated articles are added in order to keep the Database up-to-date. All material published in e-EROS has been carefully selected, commissioned and edited by the e-EROS Editorial Board. ... [Features include] browse through the A-Z list of Reagents and Catalysts ... alphanumeric searches ... [search by] names of contributors", and more.

2014 (Third edition). Edited by Philip Wexler. This 4-volume set "presents entries devoted to key concepts and specific chemicals, and is updated to reflect current advances in the field. It contains new information on nanotoxicology, epigenetics, persistent organic pollutants, computational toxicology and bioinformatics, controversial chemicals, and much more. Along with the traditional scientific entries, new articles focus on worldwide initiatives, the potential health and environmental effects of new technologies, and the societal implications of global legal and regulatory issues ... persistent organic pollutants, REACH, SAICM, e-waste ..."

2017 (17th ed.) James G. Speight, ed. “The Go-To Reference for Chemists for More Than 70 Years - Completely Updated to Include Today's Essential Topics. Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition is written to provide a reliable one-stop source of factual information for today's working chemist. Within its pages, you will find an unmatched compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings that span every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated Seventeenth Edition are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. The Seventeenth Edition is enhanced by the addition of an all-new section on Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources. This timely new content includes descriptions of coal, crude oil, natural gas, tar sand and tar sand bitumen, oil shale, biomass and biofuels, and minerals. Sections include:- Inorganic Chemistry- Organic Chemistry- Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources- Spectroscopy - General Information and Conversion Tables.”

A large collection of online engineering handbooks, full-text and searchable. Extremely useful for: expanding your topic; getting a broad overview of your topic; or getting a highly focused book reference (available as a PDF, and substantially shorter than a typical book). More than 4,320 books online, with handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering

2004 (2nd ed.) Pradyot Patnaik, et al. "This essential resource for the analytical chemist has been revised and updated with 40% new material ... all the conventional wet and instrumental techniques in one exhaustive reference along with all the critical data needed to apply them. Worked examples, troubleshooting tips, and numerous tables and charts are provided for easy access to the data. This title is the most up-to-date and complete guide to analytical chemistry available today with three major chapters on Analysis of Indoor Air, Analysis of Pesticides and Analysis of Trace Metals."

Information on the hazards of working with a chemical and procedures that should be used to ensure safety, including federal and state law requirements. Includes University of California Office of the President standard operating procedures for research and/or teaching laboratories.

2004-present. Updated online. The primary source for those who need to evaluate the hazardous potential of substances used in commerce. Combines data on toxicological, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information on approximately 28,000 substances, including 2600 new entries. Also includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDLH) levels for approximately 1,000 chemicals. It also covers exposure-level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation. Especially important in areas of industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policy making.

Includes material safety data sheets, guides to chemical safety, toxicology information, environmental sources, and laws and regulations. A WikiBook.