Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as irrigation engineering rather than the more specific trickle irrigation engineering for small farms.
PLEASE NOTE: With the permanent closure of the Physical Sciences and Engineering Library during COVID time, all agricultural and biological engineering print books and other materials have been re-located to four locations: Shields Library sciences 3rd floor; Shields Library 2nd floor Reference collection (REFERENCE titles); temporary storage (at Carlson Health Sciences Library); or the Northern UC libraries storage facility, NRLF (Northern Regional Library Facility). The UCD Library Catalog notes which of these four locations your print chemistry materials may be found at.
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and the ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
[Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present]
- Chemistry LibreTextsThe LibreTexts Chemistry Library is the principal hub of the LibreTexts project, a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.
Locate books in person:
Call number ranges to browse in the Shields Library stacks - all on the third floor.
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE @ https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/
Agricultural engineering books are mostly in the general Ag (S) call number areas of S 494.5 or S 670s but can be in unique areas of focus such as food engineering at TP 370. Biological engineering materials are found in a variety of locations, dependent of the aspect of biology being engineered. Some resources (particularly in synthetic biology) are classed in TA 164.
- Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Specialized Book Series
ASABE Technical Library Online Books
ASABE Textbooks
- Teaching Materials for a Gin Operations Course, 2014
- Soil and Water Conservation Engineering, Seventh Edition, 2013
- Designing Structural Components for Machines, 2010
- Dynamics of Biological Systems, 2003
- Engineering Principles of Agricultural Machines, Second Edition, 2006
- Engine & Tractor Power, 4th Edition, 2004
- Fundamentals of Electricity for Agriculture 3rd Edition, 2004
- Food & Process Engineering Technology, 2004
- Off-Road Vehicle Engineering Principles, 2003
ASABE Monographs
- Advances in Soil Dynamics, Volume 1
- Advances in Soil Dynamics, Volume 2
- Advances in Soil Dynamics, Volume 3
- Design and Operation of Farm Irrigation Systems, 2nd Edition
- Livestock Energetics and Thermal Energy Management, 2009
- Pesticides in Domestic Wells
ASABE Distinguished Lectures
ASABE Special Publications
- A Quality Assurance Project Plan for Monitoring Gaseous and Particulate Matter Emissions from Broiler Housing
- Air Pollutant Emissions from Confined Animal Buildings (APECAB) Project
- Animal Agriculture and the Environment, National Centure for Manure & Animal Waste Management White Papers
- Final Report: Gulf Hypoxia and Local Water Quality Concerns Workshop
- Looking Beneath the Surface of Agricultural Safety and Health
- ACS Symposium Series eBooks1974-present. UC Davis has the ACS (American Chemical Society) Symposium books online from 1974 on. Volumes published in 2010 and earlier are also available in print.
To locate a print volume: search the Library Catalog for “ACS Symposium” then add either the volume number or title you want. - ACS Advances in Chemistry1949-1998. Founded in 1949, Advances in Chemistry series was the predecessor to the ACS Symposium Series.
- International Tables For CrystallographyTheo Hahn; U. Shmueli; A. J. C. Wilson (editors). 1984-2012. Dordrecht, Holland; Boston, U.S.A. Kluwer Academic Publishers Group, most current volumes available through Wiley.
Use the link above or this alternate link
https://it.iucr.org/ to access the volumes below.
Volume A1 Symmetry Relations Between Space Groups
Volume B Reciprocal space
Volume C Mathematical, Physical and Chemical Tables
Volume D Physical Properties of Crystals
Volume E Subperiodic Groups
Volume F Crystallography of Biological Macromolecules
Volume G Definition and Exchange of Crystallographic Data - International Tables for X-Ray CrystallographyNorman F.M. Henry & Kathleen Lonsdale (Editors), International Union of Crystallography, Kynoch Press 1969. Freely available via Internet Archive.
Volume 1: Symmetry Groups (also in print: Shields Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 2: Mathematical Tables (also in print: Shields Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 3: Physical & Chemical Tables (also in print: Shields Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 4: Revised and supplementary tables to volumes 2 and 3 (print only: Shields Library QD945 .I55) - RSC eBooks1968-present. The RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) ebooks package, includes over 1000 books published since 1968, including the Specialist Periodical Reports series and Tutorial Chemistry Texts @ https://pubs.rsc.org/en/ebooks#!key=series-title&value=tutorial-chemistry-texts
Access eBooks via major publisher collections:
- Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2020. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. NOTE: Springer puts out new year titles 6 months before the new year date. Our contract is from Jan-Dec so a very recent book may not be accessible the first months of the new year. For example a 2021 book may be released in August 2020 but is NOT accessible until well into 2021.
Read Less
Coverage: 2005-2022 - Taylor & Francis eBooksFull-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture.
- Science Direct eBook CollectionThousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.
- Wiley eBooks CollectionFull-text searching and access to more than 22,000 ebooks from the life, physical, health, and social sciences, as well as the humanities disciplines.
Coverage: 1790 - present
- De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press.
UCD has also purchased frontlists for:
Columbia University Press: 2019-2022
Cornell University Press: 2019-2022
Harvard University Press: 2018-2022
University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022
Yale University Press: 2019-2022
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles. - O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 45,000 titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly & Associates, including selective titles from 200+ global publishers including McGraw-Hill, Pearson Technology Group (Addison-Wesley, Alpha, Financial Times Prentice Hall, Cisco Press, New Riders, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall PTR, Que and Sams), HarperCollins, Pakt Publishers, MIT Sloan Management, ASTD, Apress, Amacom, and other learning providers. The subject coverage ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Science, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000+ hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education video. Additional information about how to customize results, develop personalized reading lists, engage in notetaking, and bookmarking is found on the Proquest LibGuide for OHE at: https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/
[Coverage: 2007-present]
