Indexes to Historic Magazines
- Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndexes 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Index Online is a retrospective index to over 6,000 popular and scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences in multiple (mostly Western) languages. Additional material added annually. Some full-text included.
[Coverage: 1665-recent] - Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowAn electronic version of the classic Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Related: The print version of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-present) is located in the Reference Collection on the Second Floor of Shields Library, AI3.R4
[Coverage: 1890-1982]
Full-Text Historic Magazines and Catalogs
- Vogue Archive (1892-present) This link opens in a new windowThe Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. Search by advertisement, article, editor, and more or browse each issue by date.
[Coverage: 1892-present] - American Craft Council Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowThis site is an "open-access online compendium containing thousands of unique images, documents, and media. . . detail[ing] the history of contemporary craft in America." It includes collections on the history of the American Craft Council, exhibition catalogs from the Museum of Contemporary Crafts and the American Craft Museum, and more.
- Guggenheim Museum Digital Exhibition CataloguesFull-text access to over 200 historic Guggenheim Museum exhibition catalogues. Exhibition dates range from 1936-2006.
- Royal Academy of Arts Exhibition CataloguesIncludes 250 years of Royal Academy annual Summer Exhibition catalogues and the entire run of Winter Exhibition catalogues from 1870-1939.
- Digitized art, architecture, design and craft journals on the Internet“Designinform Research Guides No.2: Free-access, digitized art, architecture, design and craft journals on the Internet.” The site includes descriptions of and links to more than 50 digitized journals from the U.S. and Europe.
Coverage is mostly late nineteenth and early twentieth century, but some journals are from the mid nineteenth century, while others go right into the 2000s.
- Getty Publications Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowAn open, online repository of several hundred Getty publication books, available as high-quality scans to read online, or to download in their entirety. Includes titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute, spans 45 years of publishing beginning in the 1960s, and covers the fields of art, photography, archaeology, architecture, landscape, design, conservation, religion, and the humanities.
[Coverage: 1960-present]