It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art, Architecture, Art History and Design
Architecture and Design-specific Resources
This page contains an assortment of resources particularly useful for Design and Architecture. They range from databases of properties of construction and conservation materials to current awareness of Energy and Climate policies.
contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials. It includes a Materials Database with detailed information about materials used in art and archaeological conservation; as well as other resources focusing on dyes and pigments, fibers, fabrics and textiles. [via the Boston Museum of Fine Arts and other institutions]
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. A tool for students, researchers, and practitioners worldwide, DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. DAAI contains more than 212,000 records, with around 1,200 new records added in each monthly update. Subject coverage includes: Advertising, packaging and product design; Architecture; Crafts; Ceramics, glass and jewelry; Industrial design; Graphic design; Fashion and textiles; Sustainable design; Furniture and interior design; and Fiber arts.
This architecture database includes over 11,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database. One can search by architect, subject or location. Includes many images of buildings and plans.
BuildingGreen.com integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, articles from Environmental Building News, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 300 project case studies. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED™ credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.
Brings together the leading stories from E&E Daily, E&E News PM, ClimateWire, GreenWire, and EnergyWire. The left navigation bar provides compete access to these same products. As of 2023, access is via IP authentication. personal accounts no longer necessary.