Animal Science & Wildlife Biology

An “extensive, annotated bibliography of the most important concepts and ideas in the discipline” of ecology. Articles range from agroecology to wildlife ecology including “autoecology, population, community, and ecosystem ecology, the main biomes of the world, as well as articles related to the synthesis of ecology with other disciplines including human ecology … and chemical ecology …” The Ecology Bibliography is kept current as follows: each article receives an annual formal review; and about 50-75 new articles are added each year.

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.
•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.
•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

2011. Charlotte Kirk Baer, Editor et al. “ Containing case studies that complement material presented in the text, the vast range of this definitive Encyclopedia encompasses animal physiology, animal growth and development, animal behavior, animal reproduction and breeding, alternative approaches to animal maintenance, meat science and muscle biology, farmed animal welfare and bioethics, and food safety. With contributions from top researchers in their discipline, the book addresses new research and advancements in this burgeoning field and provides quick and reader-friendly descriptions of technologies critical to professionals in animal and food science, food production and processing, livestock management, and nutrition.”

2020. Jennifer Vonk, ed. et al. “ This encyclopedia, reflecting one of the fastest growing fields in evolutionary psychology, is a comprehensive examination of the key areas in animal cognition. It will serve as a complementary resource to the handbooks and journals that have emerged in the last decade on this topic, and will be a useful resource for student and researcher alike. With comprehensive coverage of this field, key concepts will be explored. These include social cognition, prey and predator detection, habitat selection, mating and parenting, learning and perception. Attention is also given to animal-human co-evolution and interaction, as well as metacognition and consciousness. Entries are tailored to the importance of the individual topic and the amount of empirical evidence that is available. All entries are under the purview of acknowledged experts in the field.”

2019 (2nd ed.) J.C. Chose, ed. This “ … Four- Volume Set [is] the latest update since the 2010 release, builds upon the solid foundation established in the first edition. Updated sections include Host-parasite interactions, Vertebrate social behavior, and the introduction of ‘overview essays’ that boost the book's comprehensive detail. The structure for the work is modified to accommodate a better grouping of subjects. Some chapters have been reshuffled, with section headings combined or modified.”

2010. Daniel S. Mills. “ Welfare research has established a range of scientific indicators of stress, welfare and suffering in animals that can be applied to all aspects of improving their welfare through good housing and management, and the topic continues to grow in importance among both professionals and the public.

The practical focus of this authoritative, comprehensive encyclopedia aims to promote the understanding and improvement of animals’ behaviour without compromising welfare. Under the editorial direction of Professor Daniel Mills, the UK’s first specialist in veterinary behavioural medicine, over 180 international experts have contributed a wealth of fully cross-referenced entries from concise definitions to detailed short essays on biological, practical, clinical and ethical aspects of behaviour and welfare in domestic, exotic, companion and zoo animals.”

2nd edition (2017). Edited by Simon A. Levin. “… this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. “Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.” Over 320 articles with “approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms”. Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates.”

2011. Edited by Daniel Simberloff. This work “addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level—including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria—in succinct, alphabetically arranged articles. … the volume encompasses fields of study including biology, demography, geography, ecology, evolution, sociology, and natural history. …[includes an] … an appendix of the world’s worst 100 invasive species, a glossary, and more …”

2018. Andrew Linsey, ed. et al. “ This handbook provides an in-depth examination of the practical and theoretical issues within the emerging field of animal ethics. Leading experts from around the globe offer insights into cutting edge topics as diverse as killing for food, religious slaughter, animal companions, aquariums, genetic manipulation, hunting for sport and bullfighting. … Progressive in approach, the authors explore the challenges that animal ethics poses both conceptually and practically to traditional understandings of human–animal relations. … Structured in four parts to examine the ethics of control, the ethics of captivity, the ethics of killing and the ethics of causing suffering. Interdisciplinary approach including philosophical, historical, scientific, legal, anthropological, religious, psychological and sociological perspectives. Focussed treatment of practical issues such as animals in farming, zoos and animal experimentation.”

2000 (2nd ed.) Ross H. Arnett Jr. “New edition of a reference that contains a total of 12,357 described genera and 87,107 described species of insects, all of which are accounted for by actual literature reference. It provides a description of each known order of insects, extant or extinct; a description of each family of insects; a listing in taxonomic sequence of each described genus of insect; the number of described species in each genus, by actual count; an account, either as a description, or as a unique species in the genus, of over 17,000 species of insects, including a listing, many descriptions and illustrations of all species known to be pests. Arnett (deceased) was an influential coleopterist.” Book News review

2022. Open access published by the Foundation for Freshwater Research and the Freshwater Biological Association. A “Practitioners' Guide to Improving and Protecting River Health: Focus on Invertebrate Monitoring and Assessment."

Original content from 1920s+. Comprehensive update with move to online for 2010+.RESEARCH level handbook with GERMAN as first language. Online continuously updated version of De Gruyter’s Handbook of Zoology covering over 100 years of zoological research. Includes original Handbook material (> 28,000 pages) reordered along taxonomic (instead of bibliographical) categories. PLEASE NOTE: publication language of the core historical volumes is German. ENGLISH language sections are currently under the Browseable section “Ahead of Print” but are slowly being integrated into the main volumes below. Browseable volumes are organized in 8 larger volume collections as follows:

•Protozoa, Porifera, Colenteratea, Mesozoa (Vol. 1)
•Vermes Amera (Vol. 2)
•Arthropoda ex. Insecta (Vol. 3)
•Arthropoda: Insecta (Vol. 4)
•Solenogastres, Mollusca, Echinoderma (Vol. 5)
•Pisces/Amphibia (Vol. 6)
•Reptilia, Aves (Vol. 7)
•Mammalia (Vol. 8)

2020 (5th ed.) Michael Allaby, editor. “
Allaby covers all aspects of the study of animals in more than 5,250 clearly written entries--many new to this edition, including alarm pheromone, Fick's laws, manometer, and synanthrope. Illustrated with many line drawings, the book defines terms from animal behavior, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics, and physiology, provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods and other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals, and introduces new material on behavioral ecology and conservation biology. In many entries, he recommends web links, which are kept up to date through the Dictionary of Zoology's companion website. Finally, the book includes detailed appendices covering the universal genetic code, endangered animals, the geologic time scale, and SI units.”

2013. Paul A. Rees. “ This dictionary is intended as a guide to the terminology used in a wide range of animal-related programmes of study including agriculture, animal care, animal management, animal production, animal welfare, veterinary nursing, wildlife conservation and zoo biology. In total it contains over 5,300 entries. It contains a wide range of terms used in the fields of veterinary science, physiology and zoology, as students whose primary interests are animal welfare or zoo biology also need to have some understanding of disease, how animal bodies function and how animals are classified. It also contains some legal terms, and reference to some legal cases, to help students understand how the protection, use and conservation of animals is regulated by the law. Some people, famous animals, literature and films have influenced the way we think about, and behave towards, animals. For this reason, the book includes references to important books about animals, famous animals who have starred in films or been the subject of scientific studies, along with short biographies of famous scientists and others who have studied animals or established conservation or animal welfare organisations.”

2020 (6th ed.) Valerie Porter, ed. This resource “ … has a long history as a reliable and authoritative source of key livestock breed information. Intended as a list of livestock names and synonyms for breeds, groups, types and varieties worldwide, the dictionary aims to include all names found in the literature, 'defining' each breed or type with a brief indication of identifying characteristics, uses and source of origin. In this new edition … “Extends coverage to include yak and camelids in addition to the existing cattle, sheep, pigs, goats, horses, asses and water buffalo. Features well over 10,000 entries and cross-references on breeds, sub-breeds, types, varieties, strains and lines of species. Covers newly created and now-recognised local breeds documented over the past two decades.”

2011. Edward M. Barrows. ""Words are our tools, and, as a minimum, we should use clean tools. We should know what we mean and what we do not, and we must forearm ourselves against the traps that language sets us."" -- The Need for Precise Terminology, Austin (1957, 7--8) It follows that, for effective and efficient communication, people should have, or at least understand, the same precise terminology. Such terminology is crucial for the advancement of basic, theoretical, and applied science, yet too often there is ambiguity between scientific and common definitions and even discrepancies in the scientific literature.“

2011 (2nd ed.) Gordon Gordh et al. This dictionary is a “comprehensive, fully cross-referenced collection of terms, names and phrases used in entomology, incorporating an estimated 43,000 definitions. It is the only listing which covers insect anatomy, behaviour, biology, ecology, histology, molecular biology, morphology, pest management, taxonomy and systematics. The origin, etymology, part of speech and definition of each term and phrase are all provided, including the language, meaning or root of each term and constituent parts.The common names of insects, their scientific binomen and taxonomic classification are provided, with diagnoses of pest species in many cases. All insect order, suborder, superfamily, family and subfamily names are given, together with the diagnostic features of orders and families. With new and updated terms, particularly in molecular biology, phylogeny and spatial technology …”