Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as animal genetics or mammal behavior rather than the more specific metapopulation gene flow or cheetah mate selection.
UC Davis theses and dissertations by graduates of either Animal Science, Animal Biology, or Wildlife graduate researchers may be found by searching the following subject headings:
Dissertations, Academic — University of California, Davis — Animal Biology
OR Dissertations, Academic — University of California, Davis — Animal Science
OR Dissertations, Academic — University of California, Davis — Avian Sciences
OR Dissertations, Academic — University of California, Davis combined with ANY FIELD search term wildlife*
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and the ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.
Locate books in person:
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE
CLASS H - SOCIAL SCIENCES
HV subclass Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology
HV 4701-4890.9 Protection of Animals. Animal Rights. Animal Welfare
HV4905-4959 Animal Experimentation. Animal Vivisection
CLASS Q - SCIENCE
QH subclass Natural History
QH359-425 Evolution
QH540-549.5 Ecology
QK subclass Botany
QK 926 Pollination biology including insects as pollinators
QL subclass Zoology
QL1-355 Zoology General, Including geographical distribution
QL360-599.82 Invertebrates
QL 461 - QL 599.82 Insects
QL 568 Honeybees and pollination biology
QL605-739.8 Chordates. Vertebrates
QL614-639.8 Fishes
QL640-669.3 Reptiles and Amphibians
QL671-699 Birds
QL700-739.8 Mammals
QL750-795 Animal Behavior
QL791-795 Anim Behav - Stories & anecdotes
QL799-799.5 Morphology
QL801-950.9 Anatomy
QL951-991 Embryology
CLASS S - AGRICULTURE (General)
SB subclass Plant culture
SB 818 – SB 945 Insects as plant pests
SF subclass Animal culture
SF94.5-99 Feeds & Feeding. Animal Nutrition
SF105-109 Breeding & Breeds
SF191-275 Cattle
SF277-360.4 Horses
SF361-361.73 Donkeys
SF362 Mules
SF371-379 Sheep. Wool
SF380-388 Goats
SF391-397.83 Swine
SF405.5-407 Laboratory Animals
SF408-408.6 Zoo animals
SF411-459 Pets
SF421-440.2 Dogs
SF441-450 Cats
SF451-455 Rabbits and Hares
SF456-458.83 Fish. Aquariums
SF481-507 Poultry. Eggs
SF508-510.6 Game Birds
SF511-511.5 Ostriches
SF515-515.5 Reptiles
SF 518 Insect rearing
SF 521 – SF 539.8 Bees and Bee culture (Apiculture)
SF 541 - SF 560 Sericulture. Silkworm culture
SF600-1100 Veterinary Medicine PLEASE NOTE: with the closure of the Carlson Health Sciences Library in June 2022, print-only Veterinary Medicine publications that are high-use, core titles, reference materials and serials titles will be moved to appropriate locations in Shields Library over 2022-2023.
Fisheries management and Aquaculture resources are in a separate designated Agriculture subclass
SH Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
SH 20.3-191 Aquaculture
SH 201-399 Fisheries
SH 401-691 Angling
- Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Agricultural Animal/Veterinary Medicine collections
- CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
- Wageningen Academic Publishers eBooksUC Davis has current years of eBooks licensed from this large university publisher of agriculture-related books. “Wageningen Academic Publishers is an independent STM publisher operating worldwide in the field of Life Sciences. Located at the heart of one of the world’s most famous food & agriculture research centres, we focus on topics in Animal and Veterinary, Food and Health, Agribusiness and Rural Studies, Agriculture and Environment. We currently publish ... around 30 new books per year.” Exclusions: textbooks
- Thieme MedOne Veterinary Medicine This link opens in a new windowTo eliminate human medicine titles: select BOOKS under SOURCES/CONTENT. Then select FILTER - SUBJECT AREAS: VETERINARY MEDICINE
UCD has early access to Thieme’s in-development MedOne Veterinary Medicine platform. This platform currently provides nearly 100 veterinary medicine eBooks translated into English using machine translation software. Previously these titles were only available in German. Once the in-development phase is complete, human-translation will replace machine-translation, and additional titles will be included.
MedOne platform provides DRM-free ebooks, as well as: the ability to:
*search and filter text and images
*download high-quality labeled images direct to powerpoint
*create and share playlists
Thieme welcomes input to platform development, especially from veterinary faculty, researchers, and students: submit feedback to vet-feedback@thieme.com
Animal Welfare eBook Collection
- Animal Studies: Law, Welfare, and Rights [via HeinOnline]2015-present. HeinOnline collection which includes “1,600 titles and more than 540,000 pages related to the background and evolution of the basic rights of animals. From philosophical books dating back to the 1800s, to videos, publications, and brochures. … essential to any researcher looking for a wealth of information on animal law. With titles from the Animal Legal Defense Fund and Animal Welfare Institute, this collection aims to establish the foundational laws pertaining to animals and follow the evolution of these rights throughout the years. Resources include:
* Animal Legal Defense Fund publications
* Animal Welfare Institute publications
* Philosophical books dating back to the 1800s
* Compiled legislative histories
* Congressional hearings
* Periodicals
* Code of Federal Regulations Titles 9 & 50
* Much more!
NOTABLE TITLES
* Animals' Advocate, 1985-current
* U.S. Animal Protection Laws and Rankings, 2006-2017
* AWI Quarterly, 1951-2018
* Journal of Animal & Environmental Law, 2009-2018
* Animal Welfare Approved Newsletter, 2008-2014
* Crimes without Consequences: The Enforcement of Humane Slaughter in the United States, 2008
Access eBooks via major publisher collections:
- Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2020. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. NOTE: Springer puts out new year titles 6 months before the new year date. Our contract is from Jan-Dec so a very recent book may not be accessible the first months of the new year. For example a 2021 book may be released in August 2020 but is NOT accessible until well into 2021.
Read Less
Coverage: 2005-2022 - Taylor & Francis eBooksFull-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture.
- Science Direct eBook CollectionThousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.
- Wiley eBooks CollectionFull-text searching and access to more than 22,000 ebooks from the life, physical, health, and social sciences, as well as the humanities disciplines.
Coverage: 1790 - present
- De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press.
UCD has also purchased frontlists for:
Columbia University Press: 2019-2022
Cornell University Press: 2019-2022
Harvard University Press: 2018-2022
University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022
Yale University Press: 2019-2022
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles. - O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 45,000 titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly & Associates, including selective titles from 200+ global publishers including McGraw-Hill, Pearson Technology Group (Addison-Wesley, Alpha, Financial Times Prentice Hall, Cisco Press, New Riders, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall PTR, Que and Sams), HarperCollins, Pakt Publishers, MIT Sloan Management, ASTD, Apress, Amacom, and other learning providers. The subject coverage ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Science, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000+ hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education video. Additional information about how to customize results, develop personalized reading lists, engage in notetaking, and bookmarking is found on the Proquest LibGuide for OHE at: https://proquest.libguides.com/oreilly/
[Coverage: 2007-present]