Key Resources for Animal Science & Wildlife Biology
This guide lists resources related to animal science (domesticated animals) and wildlife biology which are useful for locating literature across a range of topics including: anatomy and physiology, behavior, breeding and reproduction, ecology, genetics, molecular biology, systematics and taxonomy, and more.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating animal science or wildlife biology literature.
Please note:
Comprehensive literature searching in Animal Science & Wildlife Biology requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since animal science or wildlife biology is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
Search BIOSIS Previews or Zoological Record for the basic biology of any animal including: anatomy and physiology, behavior, ecology, genetics, molecular biology, nutrition and feeding, reproduction, and taxonomy and systematics. NOTE: Zoological Record is an essential database for taxonomy, systematics, and new species records. Zoological Record is the first database to search for wildlife, particularly rare and endangered species.
Search CAB Abstracts for livestock, poultry and any animal that is essential to agriculture or any animal that is a pest in agriculture including methods of biocontrol of pests. CAB Abstracts is also a core database for Veterinary Medicine.
All life sciences subject databases will have taxonomic searching features available for searching by various taxa groups such as kingdoms or orders or families.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowPrimary database for wildlife researchers. The oldest continuing database of animal biology - designed to include all records of new species information and naming. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies.
[Coverage: 1864-Present] - CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present]
