Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as soil amendment rather than the more specific biochar soil amendment for semi-arid regions.
- UC Library Search
Anyone may search the UC Davis subset of the larger (UC-wide) Library Search (Catalog) to determine what types of agricultural publications - particularly books - exist in mainly English language. More comprehensive UC Davis Library agricultural collections which include languages outside of English are: the Viticulture (grape-growing) and Enology (wine-making) collection; the bee and bee products and pollination biology collection; and the nematology collection as related to nematodes found in soil, air, water or which impact plants.
PLEASE NOTE: electronic books and other e-resources are likely licensed for UC Davis or UC campuses system-wide and are not accessible to non-affiliates.
Locate books in person:
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE (United States Classification system)
CLASS S - AGRICULTURE
S subclass Agriculture (General)
SB subclass Plant culture
SD subclass Forestry
SF subclass Animal culture
SH subclass Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
SK subclass Hunting sports
Please note that Food Science resources are located in the TX subclass area; Nutrition resources are also found in the TX and QP subclasses; and Viticulture/Winemaking resources are located in the TP subclass area.
- Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Open Access or Open Educational Book Collections
Below are large-scale open-access book collections freely available to researchers world-wide
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books - OER (Open Educational Resources) Guide - CollectionsComprehensive list of: OER libraries; open textbook collections; open-access book collections (beyond textbooks); multimedia collections; video & streaming media; and models, simulations & games.
Access eBooks via major agricultural publisher collections:
Your academic/research institution outside of the United States may have access to some of these publisher collections which must be licensed in order to receive access. See the ebooks page from the Agriculture & Related Fields Subject Guide.