Research Guides: Open Access Literature Resources for International Agricultural Researchers: U.S. Ag & Ag-Related Resources

U.S. Ag & Ag-Related Resources

AGRICOLA - Free version from NAL (U.S. National Agricultural Library)
The new FREE AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access, NAL Catalog) + PubAg + NALDC (Natl Agricultural Library Digital Collections) are now searchable together as of January 2023. You may still search PubAg separately (see the next link in this section).

This free access version of the AGRICOLA bibliographic database “consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century. AGRICOLA records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.”

PubAg This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1.46 million citations to literature from across core areas of agricultural science, including 42,000 full-text articles authored by USDA researchers. Produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), a part of the USDA's Agricultural Research Service (ARS).
[Coverage: 1997-present]

AgNIC : Agriculture Network Information Collaborative
AgNic is administered by various North American and some South American coordinating universities/libraries.

AgNIC is a “voluntary alliance of members based on the concept of ‘centers of excellence’. The member institutions are dedicated to enhancing collective information and services among the members and their partners for all those seeking agricultural information over the Internet.” This collaborative includes “over 60 topics covered comprehensively by partner institutions … [with] full-text and web-based resources.” AgNIC “facilitates and participates in partnerships and cooperation among institutions and organizations world-wide that are committed to the identification, delivery and preservation of reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information.” Detailed description of various subject portals by institution at http://soc.ics.uci.edu/Resources/collab.php?711

AgEcon Search This link opens in a new window
“AgEcon Search – Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics” is a World Wide Web site developed and maintained at the University of Minnesota by Magrath Library and the Department of Applied Economics. AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. AgEcon Search will serve as the permanent archive for this literature and encourages authors and organizations to use this electronic library as the storehouse for additional appropriate scholarly electronic works.”

PubMed Central
More than 300,000 open access publications related to agriculture are available in this biomedical and life sciences related literature portal.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a “free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). … PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).”