Research Guides: Open Access Literature Resources for International Agricultural Researchers: Comprehensive Agricultural Library Catalogs or Meta-catalogs

Comprehensive Agricultural Library Catalogs or Meta-catalogs

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Anyone may search the UC Davis subset of the larger (UC-wide) Library Search (Catalog) to determine what types of agricultural publications - particularly books - exist in mainly English language. More comprehensive UC Davis Library agricultural collections which include languages outside of English are: the Viticulture (grape-growing) and Enology (wine-making) collection; the bee and bee products and pollination biology collection; and the nematology collection as related to nematodes found in soil, air, water or which impact plants.

Setting for all UC Libraries - As of July 2021, this is a single online catalog for the UC system. Most campuses have added in their separate Law libraries to this system-wide catalog. Agricultural campuses in the UC system are: UC Davis (unique programs include Animal Science, Food Science & Technology , and Veterinary Medicine. Very strong program in Biological & Agricultural Engineering); UC Berkeley (historical, founding agricultural campus going back to 1868); and UC Riverside (citrus crops and entomology programs are very strong).

PLEASE NOTE: electronic books and other e-resources are likely licensed for UC Davis or UC campuses system-wide and are not accessible to non-affiliates.
UC Library Search: User Guide & FAQ

NAL Catalog (Book Search)
The U.S. National Agriculture Library Catalog section “consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century. AGRICOLA records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.”
Open WorldCat
WorldCat is the world’s largest network of library content and services – providing searching of catalogs from more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. “During the past 50+ years, thousands of libraries have entered their information about millions of books, magazines, movies, songs, maps, genealogical records, research theses and so much more into WorldCat. And not just the physical items you could find when you visit a library, but many kinds of digital content like open-source e-books, articles, downloadable audiobooks, and photos. You can also find article citations with links to full text, authoritative research materials, one-of-a-kind documents and photos of local or historic significance, and digital versions of rare items that aren’t generally available to the public.

WorldCat.org is supported by OCLC, a nonprofit global library organization that provides shared technology services, original research, and community programs so libraries can better fuel learning, research, and innovation.”