Open Educational Resources (OER)

California Open Online Library for Education, featuring resources used across the three State of California higher education systems with faculty reviews and project showcases.

The LibreText project consists of 13 pseudo-independently operating and interconnected libraries that host close to 130,000 pages of content in specific fields with a past emphasis on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics fields, but recently expanding into other fields.

Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed to and used by an international education community.

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Provides a fully searchable catalog, including learning materials for use in K-16.

LibreTexts contains open textbooks and digital learning objects, as well as a 'remixer' to help you curate materials.

Luman Learning curates and creates OER to develop course materials for general education college coursework.

OpenStax is one of the most popular OER repositories in use today, and provides textbooks for college as well as high school AP courses.

OTL provides an easy-to-use interface for locating textbooks, along with reviews from faculty who have adopted their texts for courses.

A directory of all the books (textbooks, handbooks, and other text-based media) published on Pressbooks, a popular OER-authoring tool.

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books

Project Gutenberg provides access to over 50,000 free eBooks in a wide variety of subject areas.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including open access content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.

More than 8,000 Open Access books from 100+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to users.

Includes a growing amount of Open Access books and other content on one platform for user-friendly, seamless discovery and navigation.

Luminos is the UC Press’s Open Access publishing program for monographs.

DPLA makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available online via their discovery experience.

Over 3 million digitized books, films and video, audio recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts from the LoC collections.

Free public access to primary resource collections maintained by more than 300 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.

Access to more than 4.4 million digital items from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

Downloadable, original animated videos on a wide variety of topics, paired with questions and resources, make up TED-Ed Lessons.

Genetics website has provided engaging, multimedia educational materials at no cost.

BioInteractive resources primarily focus on core concepts and processes in biology, in addition to interdisciplinary resources with connections to biology in earth and environmental science, chemistry, and math and statistics.

LibreStudio is a platform for construction, storage and distribution of H5P assessments.

Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations.