Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as California* amphibia* conservation OR California* bird* rather than the more specific California* slender salamander* habitat* conservation OR California* condor* mate selection.
Useful subject headings (sometimes from two subject vocabularies, see information in bullets below on Library of Congress or National Library of Medicine Classification systems) for searches in this area include: Amphibians — California | Birds — California | Fish — California | Mammals — California | Reptiles — California
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.
Locate books in person:
Call number ranges to browse in the Shields Library stacks - all on the third floor.
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE @ https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/
CLASS G - GEOGRAPHY etc.
Oceanography literature is located in one subclass in G
GC subclass - Oceanography (consult the Library of Congress classification outline for G for more specific GC subclass areas)
CLASS Q - SCIENCE
QH subclass Natural History
QH72-77 Habitat Conservation
QH359-425 Evolution
QH540-549.5 Ecology
QL subclass Zoology
QL1-355 Zoology General, Including geographical distribution
QL605-739.8 Chordates. Vertebrates
QL614-639.8 Fishes
QL640-669.3 Reptiles/Amphibians
QL671-699 Birds
QL700-739.8 Mammals
QL750-795 Animal Behavior
CLASS S - AGRICULTURE
Fisheries management and Aquaculture resources are in a separate designated Agriculture subclass
SH Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
SH 20.3-191 Aquaculture
SH 201-399 Fisheries
SH 401-691 Angling
SK Hunting and Wildlife Management (Federal and State Fish & Wildlife - or Fish & Game - agency publications are located in this area)
SK 351-579 Wildlife management. Game protection
- Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Access eBooks online via the databases:
The following eBook collections are useful in searching the entire online text of books for specific chapters or book sections on your project topics.
- Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2020. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. NOTE: Springer puts out new year titles 6 months before the new year date. Our contract is from Jan-Dec so a very recent book may not be accessible the first months of the new year. For example a 2021 book may be released in August 2020 but is NOT accessible until well into 2021.
Read Less
Coverage: 2005-2022 - Science Direct eBook CollectionThousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.
- De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press.
UCD has also purchased frontlists for:
Columbia University Press: 2019-2022
Cornell University Press: 2019-2022
Harvard University Press: 2018-2022
University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022
Yale University Press: 2019-2022
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles.
- Wiley eBooks CollectionFull-text searching and access to more than 22,000 ebooks from the life, physical, health, and social sciences, as well as the humanities disciplines.
Coverage: 1790 - present