Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
Reference materials are intended to help you get started with a basic overview of a topic and are often presented in the form of encyclopedias or dictionaries that provide 'further reading,' or 'see also' sections with bibliographies to connect you to additional information resources on your topic.
Reference sources will help you to:
- gain insight and introductory knowledge on topics you may be unfamiliar with
- identify key terms and vocabulary associated with a topic you’re investigating
- connect you with additional readings/information sources on your topic
Recommended:
- Reference Collection in Biomedical Sciences This link opens in a new windowA curated reference collection in biomedical sciences, designed to serve as an in depth compendium. New articles are added on a regular basis and previously published articles are reviewed for currency to ensure articles are up-to-date. Articles determined current according to this review receive a ‘timestamp’ that appears on the article indicating the date of the last currency review. Articles that are determined out-of-date are updated. Contents include over 8,000 chapters from the following major reference works — Brenner’s Encyclopedia of Genetics (2nd ed.), Comprehensive Biomedical Physics, Comprehensive Biotechnology (2nd ed.), Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry (2nd ed.), Encyclopedia of Cell Biology, Encyclopedia of Endocrine Diseases (2nd ed.), Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition (3rd ed.), Encyclopedia of Immunobiology, Encyclopedia of Microbiology (3rd ed.), Encyclopedia of Cardiovascular research and Medicine, Encyclopedia of Neuroscience, Encyclopedia of Toxicology (3rd ed.), Encyclopedia of Virology (3rd ed.), International Encyclopedia of Public Health (1st & 2nd eds.), Pathobiology of Human Disease, and xPharm: the Comprehensive Pharmacology Reference.
- Reference Collection in Life SciencesThis online Reference Collection forms the definitive source for those entering, researching or teaching in any of the many disciplines making up this interdisciplinary area of study. This resource is designed to serve as an in depth and comprehensive compendium of life sciences.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowThis is a continuously updated set of scholarly reference works. Use Browse by Subject to search individual ORE titles, or the basic or advanced search boxes to search all titles at once.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias (ORE's) cover: African History, American History, Anthropology, Asian History, Business and Management, Oxford Classical Dictionary, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, Education, Environmental Science, International Studies, Latin American History, Linguistics, Literature, Neuroscience, Natural Hazard Science, Physics, Planetary Science, Politics, Psychology, Global Public Health, Religion, and Encyclopedia of Social Work.
Advanced Search
