Data and Statistics
The resources below provide transportation related datasets and statistics in California. They are in order of specificity to transportation topics.
- Caltrans PeMSCaltrans' Performance Measurement System (PeMS) data are collected in real-time from nearly 40,000 individual detectors spanning the freeway system across all major metropolitan areas of California. PeMS is also an Archived Data User Service (ADUS) that provides over ten years of data for historical analysis. It integrates a wide variety of information from Caltrans and other local agency systems.
- California Energy CommissionCalifornia's energy policy and planning agency provides policy and program information, reports, datasets, maps, and more. Resources are largely focused on clean energy, given the state's 100% clean energy goal.
- California State GeoportalThe California State Geoportal is a centralized geographic open data portal, which includes authoritative data and applications from a multitude of California state entities. The portal runs on the ESRI ArcGIS Online Hub platform, which provides many tools to access and view data and maps. It also enables users to tap into the broader ESRI ArcGIS Online suite of tools, either with a free public account or with a paid subscription account.
- CalEnviroScreenMapping tool that helps identify California communities affected by pollution. Uses environmental, health, and socioeconomic information to produce scores for every census tract in the state.
- California Open DataIncludes links to numeric and geographic data covering a variety of topics including demography, health statistics, state contracts, traffic records. Statistics and data sets are available from state agencies and links are provided to other data sources - local, federal and other sources.
The resources below provide transportation related datasets and statistics in the United States. They are in order of specificity to transportation topics.
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS), part of the Department of Transportation (DOT) is the preeminent source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics, and provides context to decision makers and the public for understanding statistics on transportation. BTS assures the credibility of its products and services through rigorous analysis, transparent data quality, and independence from political influence.
- NREL Transportation Secure Data CenterThe National Renewable Energy Laboratory's Transportation Secure Data Center (TSDC) provides free access to detailed transportation data from a variety of travel surveys and studies conducted across the nation.
- FuelEconomy.govU.S. Government source for fuel economy information. Information largely for consumers. The website also provides fuel economy statistics.
- U.S. Surface Transportation BoardThe Surface Transportation Board is an independent federal agency that is charged with the economic regulation of various modes of surface transportation, primarily freight rail. The STB exercises its statutory authority and resolves disputes in support of an efficient, competitive, and economically viable surface transportation network that meets the needs of its users.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)Through enforcing vehicle performance standards and partnerships with state and local governments, NHTSA reduces deaths, injuries and economic losses from motor vehicle crashes through research, ratings, and regulations, and provides data on highway and vehicle safety.
- NTSB Case Analysis and Reporting Online (CAROL)CAROL allows you to search National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) investigations and recommendations data across all modes. It includes aviation investigations since 1962, investigations in other modes since 2010, and over 15,000 NTSB-issued safety recommendations.
- USACE Institute for Water ResourcesThe Institute for Water Resources (IWR) strives to improve the performance of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) water resources program through analysis of emerging water resources trends and issues; development, distribution, and training in the use of state-of-the-art methods and models in the areas of planning, operations, and civil engineering; and national data management of program information across Civil Works business lines. IWR oversees seven Centers that provide targeted technical expertise, support, and data in topics such as water resources, hydrologic engineering, and waterborne commerce statistics.
- Transportation Alternatives Data Exchange (TrADERails-to-Trails Conservancy’s (RTC) Transportation Alternatives Data Exchange (TrADE) provides transportation funding data source for trails and active transportation. Since the inception of Transportation Enhancements in 1991, renamed Transportation Alternatives in 2012, RTC has monitored how these dedicated funds have been invested in order to help stakeholders at the federal, state, and local level better understand and implement this program.
- U.S. Energy Information AdministrationProvides energy industry information in the form of reports, web products, press releases, datasets, API, and maps. Data encompasses domestic and international energy information.
- DOE Data ExplorerDOE Data Explorer (DDE) is the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) search tool for finding DOE-funded, publicly available, scientific data records submitted by data centers, repositories, and other organizations funded by the Department of Energy.
- EPA EJScreenEJScreen provides an interactive map and datasets from the EPA on multiple environmental and socioeconomic indicators such as ozone, air quality, wastewater discharge, health disparities, wildfire risk, transportation access, and more.
- Sage Data (Formerly Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from over 90 governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Data Planet allows you to search and browse billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Each dataset also has a detailed description, including information about its source organization and update frequency. DataPlanet platform provides durable web links and DOIs to make it easier to revisit datasets. Datasets cover: agriculture and food; banking, finance, and insurance; criminal justice and law enforcement; education; energy resources and industries; government and politics; health and vital statistics; housing and construction; industry, business, and commerce; international relations and trade; labor and employment; military and defense; natural resources and environment; population and income; prices, consumption, and cost of living; and transportation and traffic. In August 2021, the databases formerly known as Sage Stats and U.S. Political Stats became DataPlanet.
[Coverage: 19th century – present, most datasets are from the past few decades] - Data.gov This link opens in a new windowData.gov provides access to open data from federal agencies, across the U.S. government. Data.gov is intended to provide public access to government open data, to achieve agency missions, drive innovation, fuel economic activity, and uphold the ideals of an open and transparent government. Data are standardized, in machine-readable data formats, and include metadata.
User Guide
The resources below provide transportation related datasets and statistics internationally, beginning globally and followed by region-specific resources.
- MarineTrafficLive vessel tracking and maritime data and analytics via a worldwide AIS network.
- Union Internationale des Transports Publics (UITP)UITP (Union Internationale des Transports Publics) is the International Association of Public Transport and a champion of sustainable urban mobility. UITP publishes regularly statistical findings in the form of statistics briefs, datasets, and in-depth reports which cover a wide range of topics relevant to the sector.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation working on establishing evidence-based international standards and finding solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges. They provide a forum and knowledge hub for data and analysis, exchange of experiences, best-practice sharing, and advice on public policies and international standard-setting in areas such as innovation and technology, economy, agriculture, development, environment, energy, and more.
- International Trade Administration (ITA)Find trade data, research and reports about countries and markets around the world. ITA promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade and compliance with trade laws and agreements.
- International Trade Center StatisticsThese reports provide comprehensive statistics on international trade (imports and exports) for 1250 product groups of the Harmonized Sytem nomenclature (HS revision 1 or 2 or 3) and for more than 200 countries or territories over the period 2001 to 2020.
- U.N. Statistics DivisionUnited Nations compiled global statistical information in topics such as environment, economy, development indicators, and population.
- Sage Data (Formerly Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from over 90 governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Data Planet allows you to search and browse billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Each dataset also has a detailed description, including information about its source organization and update frequency. DataPlanet platform provides durable web links and DOIs to make it easier to revisit datasets. Datasets cover: agriculture and food; banking, finance, and insurance; criminal justice and law enforcement; education; energy resources and industries; government and politics; health and vital statistics; housing and construction; industry, business, and commerce; international relations and trade; labor and employment; military and defense; natural resources and environment; population and income; prices, consumption, and cost of living; and transportation and traffic. In August 2021, the databases formerly known as Sage Stats and U.S. Political Stats became DataPlanet.
[Coverage: 19th century – present, most datasets are from the past few decades]
- CEPALSTATCEPALSTAT is the gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized, calculated and published by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Data include demographic, economic, and environmental factors.
- Eurostat This link opens in a new windowEurostat is the statistical agency for the European Union. The site provides access to data (monthly, quarterly, and annual data) from 1960 onwards. Topics include: general statistics, regional statistics, economy and finance, agriculture and fisheries, environment and energy, population and social conditions, services and transport and intra- extra- EU trade statistics. Coverage is Europe.