PSA: Library Tools for Postdoctoral Scholars

“The DIRC is an interactive decision tree program to help you determine what you need to do to legally use a specific image for a specific purpose. At each stage it has a brief description of the issue at hand as well as links for more detailed discussions of those issues.“

Open-i helps “users retrieve not only the MEDLINE citation information, but also the outcome statements in the article and the most relevant figure from it. Further, it is possible to use the figure as a query component to find other relevant images or other visually similar images.” Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Searching may be done using text queries as well as query images. Open-i provides access to over 3.7 million images from about 1.2 million PubMed Central® articles; 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports; 67,517 images from NLM History of Medicine collection; and 2,064 orthopedic illustrations.

IDR is a “public repository of reference image datasets from published scientific studies … makes datasets that have never previously been accessible publicly available, allowing the community to search, view, mine and even process and analyze large, complex, multidimensional life sciences image data. Sharing data promotes the validation of experimental methods and scientific conclusions, the comparison with new data obtained by the global scientific community, and enables data reuse by developers of new analysis and processing tools.“. Users can choose from images at a cellular level or at a tissue level.

Captures the work, observations and studies of NASA scientists, engineers, and other personnel.

“ Bugwood Images provides an easily accessible archive of high quality images for use in educational applications. It is made up of five major website interfaces. These are ForestryImages, IPMImages, InsectImages, WeedImages, and Invasive.org. The focus of Bugwood Images is on species of economic concern.” 316,594 images featuring 28,079 subjects from 2,616 photographers

The Animal Science Image Gallery began as a partnership between the Animal Science Education Consortium (fifteen colleges and universities in the northeast and mid-Atlantic states) and the National Agriculture Library (NAL), funded (2003-2007) by a USDA Higher Education Challenge Grant.

“A free collaborative collection of photos and videos from amateur and professional photographers workwide with 93.86% of all known bird species included. As of August 2022 includes: 116,899 videos; 202,652 photos; and 14,381 sound files. Collection managed by Macauley Library, Cornell Lab of Ornithology and eBird. "The Internet Bird Collection (IBC) is a non-profit endeavour with the ultimate goal of disseminating knowledge about the world's avifauna. ... While the initial aim is to post at least one video or photo per species, the long-term objective is to eventually include material showing a variety of biological aspects (e.g. feeding, breeding, etc.) for every species."

Microbes.info is noted as the Microbiology Information Portal and is a free “internet web site designed to bring useful and interesting microbiology informational resources to you.“ More than 20 image resource links are listed under the Images section.