“Get it at UC”: How to Access a Publication
What is a “Get it at UC“ link?
The “Get it at UC” button links connect scholars directly with full-text articles and ebooks, providing an easy way to move from an article or book citation to the actual publication. UC Davis’ authorized users, with proper authentication credentials, can directly access full-text articles from citations, within the journals and ebooks provided by both the UC Davis Library and UC’s California Digital Library.
Use “Get it at UC” to:
- Seamlessly discover and access publications
- Check to see if an item is available at the UC Davis Library
- Request items not available at the UC Davis Library using “Interlibrary Request”
- Use “Report a Problem” at the article level library record for help during business hours
No full text available?
If the “Get it at UC” link button produces results “no full text available,” users can then click “Interlibrary Request.” Using the “Interlibrary Request” button will auto fill most of the request form. Interlibrary loan services are provided by the UC Davis Library who will fulfill a full-text request from lending libraries, either another University of California institution or a world-wide lending network.
Where will you see the “Get it at UC” button?
- In broad discovery tools like library catalogs, Google Scholar and WorldCat
- In an article database like BIOSIS Previews, PubMed and others
- Within the article itself (as a citation in the bibliography)
- In an application like RefWorks, Citation Linker, or LibX
Behind the Button
The “Get it at UC” link relies on discrete pieces of data compiled into a URL. Each piece has to be accurate for the link to work. Many things can prevent a link from taking you to an article:
- Inaccurate data
- Inaccurate library subscription coverage information
- Special characters in the title such as &, @, :, or ( ) may produce false “no full text available” results
- Supplemental and special journal issues have irregular data
- Website problems with cookies and framing and data moving on websites.
- Article level data is unavailable from publisher so user must navigate journal website
“Get it at UC” links runs on Primo software from Ex Libris.