PSA: Library Tools for Postdoctoral Scholars

H1 Connect is a literature awareness and article recommendation tool that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the life sciences and medicine. Recommendations are provided by over 8000 faculty experts from across the life sciences, health and physical sciences.
H1 Connect, formerly Faculty Opinions, no longer includes the citation management tool SciWheel, although the UC Davis Library still subscribes and provides access to both products.

Journal Citation Reports is an annual publication which indicates the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field. JCR Science/Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 7,200 journals in science, technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences.  For  each yearly data analysis being completed in the following year. The most recent edition is always published in the summer following the year analyzed. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer time-spans for citation, consider a ranking sort by using the 5-year Impact Factor.

Web of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available."  There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present]

A web-based analytics solution, SciVal provides access to the research performance of thousands of research institutions and their associated researchers from 231 nations worldwide—so you can visualize research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop strategic partnerships, identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports. **All users will need to sign in with their Elsevier account to access SciVal.**

Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools (Citescore).
[Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823]