Guide Purpose
This guide is intended to help you choose tools to organize your research and locate books (print and digital), peer-reviewed articles and other trusted resources containing data and information about plant interactions with their physical and biological environments for use in your research.
Helpful Research Tools
- Tips for Using the LibraryResources to help you find, evaluate and use information.
- Citation StylesResources to help you follow the APA, MLA or CSE style guidelines for formatting and citing information sources.
- Citation ManagersCitation managers help you organize and automatically reformat your bibliographies. Popular options include EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero, and Sciwheel.
Key Resources
- CAB Abstracts (CAB) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 11.6 million records as of 08/10/2016.
[Coverage: 1973-present] - Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers environmental science topics from disciplines such as atmospheric science, biology, biotechnology, ecology, engineering, and microbiology. It also covers agricultural research including agricultural economics, animal and veterinary sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, food and human nutrition, forestry, and plant sciences. It includes Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and Digests and all the records from the National Agricultural Library's AGRICOLA database.
[Coverage: 1960-present] - BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present]
