Books/e-Books
Search for print and ebooks:
Shields Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) Classification system with nutrition-related titles in the following call number areas: Nutrition overall QP 140s ; Food as Therapy/Diet Therapy RM 210s-220s ; Food/Cooking & Nutrition TX 350s-360s
The UCD Libraries comprehensively buys materials on food culture and nutritional anthropology. Browsable Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) that bring up these types of publications include:
Food — Cross-cultural Studies OR Food — Social Aspects
Food Consumption — Cross-cultural Studies
Food Habits — Cross-cultural Studies OR Food Habits — United States
Food preferences — United States << change out United States with another country name
Indians of North America — Food
Nutrition — Cross-cultural studies
Nutritional Anthropology
For information on your country, here are some useful LCSH search tactics: use Ethnology — [your country name] OR [your country name] — Social Life and Customs
If there are no specific food books just for your country, consider the following:
* Look for a larger regional area that your country fits in, e.g. Southeast Asia, Eastern Europe and use that combined with a very broad search for food, e.g. food* OR cook* OR cuisin* OR eating OR dining
* Change to a literature database and look for articles on your country and food.
BONUS HELP!! Public speaking not your thing? The UCD Library selectively buys books on making presentations/public speaking for scientists. Link out to this UCD Library Catalog search to see these online books that the library has access to.
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower. - Scanning (digitization) requestsHow to request having book chapters scanned and sent.
- Shipping ServiceInstructions on how to have books shipped to you.
Access eBooks online:
The following eBook collections are useful in searching the entire online text of books for specific chapters or book sections on your paper topics.
- Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Incorporates more than 250 videos and more than 7,000 books and documents. Featured collections include: Food Movements, Organic Farming and GMOs, Food Systems, Food and the Environment, and Diet Trends. Also includes: Small Farms Interview collection, archival photographs, and over 23,000 menus available online through the New York Public Library and Los Angeles Public Library websites.
[Coverage: 1940s -1960s] - Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture. See also: Advanced Search and Taylor and Francis journals .
- Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2020. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. NOTE: Springer puts out new year titles 6 months before the new year date. Our contract is from Jan-Dec so a very recent book may not be accessible the first months of the new year. For example a 2021 book may be released in August 2020 but is NOT accessible until well into 2021.
Read Less
Coverage: 2005-2022
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Elsevier on the ScienceDirect platform. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
NOTE: We don't license everything from Elsevier, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have a green box next to it, check the library catalog, or request from another library. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, some major reference works, some professional and trade titles, consumer books, and many health sciences titles.
[Coverage: dates vary] - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Wiley. Disciplines covered include: the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. NOTE: We don't license everything from Wiley, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have an open lock next to it, check the library catalog or request from another library. Textbooks are generally not included by the publisher. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an open lock icon. - De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press.
UCD has also purchased frontlists for:
Columbia University Press: 2019-2022
Cornell University Press: 2019-2022
Harvard University Press: 2018-2022
University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022
Yale University Press: 2019-2022
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles.